We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best mix of african and international quality experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Offer
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best mix of african and international quality experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

i travel on a regular basis for business and pleasure to africa/ ao kenya and consider the nairobi serena one of the best , if not the best choices in nairobi, kampala
the reception of the guests, recognition they know you by name almost immediately, the overall quality is in accordance with its: label leading hotels of the world ( notably they are all different in setup, size, location, and vary on the high end in quality-level a bid)
the all african staff on all levels show great professionalism..
the f&b choice is the best in nairobi they constantly try to improve, train the staff by international know chefs, from france, switzerland etc they send their staff for training in other top hotels world wide. considering the fact that not all 'european' foodstuffs are always available, some of them are imported under heavy burocratic burdens..the real taste and saveur of the local products are greatly utilised and highlighted by the competent chefs.
the location of the hotel is central nairobi 30/50min from both the international and local airports, by comfortable limo service, with fantastic drivers..
the small park and pool areas are well maintained, the gym and renovated spa indulge you after a days work, safari, or long trip...
the rooms are very clean, comfortably decorated with all amnities free wifi, the bath room is a bid small, but well provided.
the beds are on the hard side, acceptable, but need to be improved with a next overhaul
for all this reasons many local and international known personalities visit this beautifull african decorated hotel on a regular basis , great change you run into a minister, president or princess that discreetly dine and wine...

concluding i can highly recommend this hotel to the demanding traveller for their next short or longer stay in nairobi
also before a safari to the bush this is an excellent start...
enjoy it
henricus deiters

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    283
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

If you need to be downtown, then Serena is a good place to be. The rooms are comfortable, there is a nice bar and restauarant, a sports club, business center, and a good pool. Service is generally very good. There are lots of taxis, but i dont reccomend using the hotel service to book safaris. You can line up a safari with a private driver for twenty percent of what you would pay at the hotel. All in all, was quite happy with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and were offered complimentary beer, wine, coffee or tea served in our room. The pool and health centre are lovely and the atomosphere is great. Lively and vibrant. Penhaligan bath products are supplied. The only let down was check out We had pre paid and checked out at reception asking reception to provide a taxi. We headed for the airport and our driver took a phone call. He said we must return back to the hotel as there is a problem. He asked us not to panic. At the hotel we were taken back to reception and told we had not paid our bill. This was incorrect. We argued for half an hour and told staff we would miss our flight. We were held hostage and hold released on handing over our credit card and paying twice for the accommodaiton. We hope that our money will be repaid by the serena as our agent has told us that Serena got it wrong.

We would stay here again but check and double check that everything is in order before leaving the UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We had one night in Nairobi before we headed out on safari. I have to say I don't really know how this hotel deserves the title "One of the World's Leading Hotels". Whilst it's not bad it's not great either. The Serena lodges we stayed at on safari were fantastic but I felt this was not in their league. The room was smaller than I expected and the bathroom was very pokey. I also felt the service was much less friendly than at the other places - maybe this is all you can expect for a hotel in the middle of a city. The food was ok but again nothing to rave about. One positive though - I did enjoy the steam room and jacuzzi and it was nice to have the pool too

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastiseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We had one night in the Serena but wished we had stayed longer. We had a large room that was spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant where there was a buffet and an a la carte menu which was all very nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. Nairobi is a lovely place which needs more than 1 day to explore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel before our safari adventure began. The hotel is lovely, quaint and peaceful. The rooms were a good size with cosy beds, a nice bathroom, TV, aircon and toiletries. The food was good both at the pool bar and breakfast. We left our luggage in storage whilst we were away for a week and collected it on our way to the airport. If I came back to Nairobi I would have no hesitation in staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Superb hotel and a very helpful staff. Enjoyed everything about my stay.
Just be wary of the sex workers at the Lounge/Bar area during evenings.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DelhiExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing