We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome to Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Offer
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Welcome to Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Nairobi Serena hotel for one night before leaving for a 1 week safari. We were on our honeymoon and the hotel upgraded us to a lovely suite on the ground floor- unprompted. The facilities were excellent, we had a small problem with the bathroom drain, but when we reported this someone from the maintenance department attended to it straight away.
The hotel is more suited to business travellers than holidaymakers and we felt a little underdressed at times.
The staff were very attentive and we had someone come to our room several times during the day to check if we were satisfied. We also received a complimentary bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    283
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Perfect service, excellent food and beautiful rooms. What a wonderful hotel! Would definately come again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerodosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at Nairobi Serena Hotel for one night when we were on our way from Safari in Amboseli to Zanzibar. We were supposed to take the evning flight, but when Zanzibar Airport suddenly decided to cancel all flights after 18:00 in the evning. We arrived late and left early, but it seemed like a nice hotel, perhaps more for business travelers than us who were on our honeymoon. It did also seemed like they took security very serious, probably due to the bombing of the Serena Hotel in Kabul a while ago.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EirikSKristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

After an 8 hour flight it's nice to rest for a day before starting a safari. Similarly, you may want somewhere to rest after your safari and this hotel fits the bill.

There's a very inviting pool with plenty of servers to bring you that cold beer. Prices are very reasonable, considering it's a 4 star hotel with a captive market.

As for food, there's an extensive breakfast buffet with al-fresco dining available. I also opted for the evening seafood buffet which was incredible. How often do you see lobster tails and crab souffle on a buffet??

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Sin_Kween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed for three nights whilst attending a conference in Nairobi and Arusha. Service exceptional, staff pleasant and courteous. Good meeting rooms and super array of cuisine. Location great and handy for airport transfers.
Would highly recommend this hotel to business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Conveniently Located with all basic facilites. One of the best breakfast buffet's in the African continent. Rooms are decent sized and well equiped. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tgupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

A most luxurious hotel. Everything about it was perfect from the pool at 7.30 am to the buffet breakfast, the gardens...everything.

Views were over one of the main roads and parks. I even watched an Indian parade which was so colourful... an amazing place to relax before and after a trip to the wild plains of Kenya!..

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing