We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Conviniently located and nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Conviniently located and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed for one night in Early June. Nice food, gym, spacious room. I stayed in a small deluxe which was still so spacious for me and looked newly fitted. Internet was fast enough and had to work on the night I arrived but still found good food in the restaurants downstairs. The hi-tech Gym is quite busy in the mornings (6am) when I visited. It is well set up but a little squashed with few open spaces and lots of equipment. Power should be a problem. Cut out twice in five hours although blackouts were short, 1-2 minutes. They have thought to put everything you may need in the room including an ambrella for when its drizzling. All nice. Apart from the AC unit whose fun seemed to whirl out dust. I switch it off minutes after my arrival.

Room Tip: Stayed on 6 floor, its quiet and room facing the acacias and city view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kintu z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    301
    45
    11
    11
See reviews for
96
212
48
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
166 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Serena Nairobi is a wonderfully charming hotel. Its location is fantastic near the centre and not far from the Nairobi National Park and many other tourist attractions in Nairobi.

The rooms were very nice (ask for a garden view) and had the amenities you would want when staying in a hotel. Very quick internet connection as well.

The hotel does have a couple of places to eat, although if you have children you are restricted from one restraint which only allows over 18’s and this leaves you with the pool bar or Maghreb or else room service. Room service and pool bar menu’s are shorter versions of the Maghreb menu but the restraint does offer themed buffet evenings which change theme each day. The food was good but can become boring if you do intend to eat in at the hotel, if you are staying for more than 2 nights it would be worth exploring some places outside. Breakfast is served in Maghreb and is a fantastic buffet offering a variety to meet all tastes and is worth enjoying. Next to the lobby you will find a lively sports bar.

The hotel also has a very good Business Centre where you can use their own computers and printers, scanners etc. The IT team are very helpful should you have any difficulties. There is a conference centre for events and opposite there are a couple of shops and a salon. Outside next to the gardens is a very nice swimming pool which is temperature controlled. Behind the pool is a gym and also the spa.

The Serena was a great hotel and ideal location for our visit as we came at a time when the various Western governments had travel warnings and we just wanted to visit the national park and a few nearby attractions and stay in the hotel. The travel to airport was not too painful as we avoided rush hour and was therefore a 20 – 25 minute journey. The staff at the hotel were exceptional, helping as much as they could. All were smiley and friendly and willing to help, a great asset to the hotel.

In summary a nice and friendly hotel, with a great team and a few things to keep you busy. Located centrally and near the tourist areas as well as near the CBD and reasonable distance from the airport. Good for both business travellers and for families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Serena for 2 nights. It was a comfortable stay and the staff was courteous and meeting expectations. The restaurants were good and offered choice for the vegetarians. I recommend the Hotel and this is well located and closer to the business centre. The price is a bit higher otherwise it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for one night between our Masai Mara safari and flying to the Seychelles. It felt very safe and the staff were great. It was our honeymoon, and we had a bottle of champagne waiting fir us in the room. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with huge comfy beds. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very good and a lovely setting. Security at the hotel seemed very good. We would definitely stay there again if back in Nairobi - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Single woman traveling alone for research on first trip to Kenya and Nairobi felt safe and well cared for. Serena is central to everything and staff was amazing - courteous, caring and met all my needs. This is not budget, but nothing in Nairobi is and I was happy to know I was safe. Amidst all the noise and traffic of the city, the hotel grounds were lovely - good thing since i never ventured out after dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

A wonderful hotel which offers a lovely atmosphere and great service. Things work seamlessly which is perfect for the business travel. The food is good and the gym facilities excellent. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the Easter Week 2014. I had a business suit, which was really nice, albeit on the pricy side, but worth it.

The hotel is clean. Breakfast is varied and good. They have a nice sunny outdoor pool and a well equipped Gym.

Overall I found this hotel to be a real pleasure to stay in, trying hard as I can, I really can't find anything to fault this hotel on.

Room Tip: Go for the business or executive suit, a little bit more, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhendron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing