We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serena Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, spacious rooms. The food was wonderful. We would sit by the pools and order from the bar. Great meeting facilities as well. Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 890 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, decent food- especially the BBQ by the pool and the curries. The only minor gripe is the check in / out. I would advise paying in cash as I had all sorts of weird charges come through on my Amex for 2 months after my stay.

Room Tip: Pick one at the back. The entrance is noisy late into the night.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel.
The rooms are nice size with a nice bathroom and have been updated in the last year or so.
The buffer breakfast was great. A great selection to choice from. Toast toasted to order and same as fried eggs and omelettes.
The curries that are served in the restaurant where amazing.
The staff in all department are great and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A wonderful hotel with a warm and friendly service, spacious rooms and delicious cuisine. A nice central location - near the city centre and set in beautiful gardens. We spent 5 nights at the Serena Lodges & Resorts in Masai Mara and Amboseli National Park and experienced the best locations and services on safari. Great Lodges with glorious views and game drives in 4WD vehicles come with booking a fly-in package. We stayed another night at Nairobi Serena on return from safari as our flight to Seychelles was early the next morning. Memorable experience.
All arranged by Vishal at Safaris Online.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonsamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we got there the door man welcomed us in a nicely, reception was quick and efficient. The room was just perfect.spacious, clean, fully equipped with a lovely private garden. Had lunch in the main restaurant and it was fabulous.There was a lot of choice on the buffet and everything was fresh and tasty.

In the evening we had drinks and bar snacks at Askum bar, although space outside is a little limited Matthew K. and his team went out of their way to accommodate us. Service was very good, food very scrumptious, and the cocktail perfect.

Breakfast had everything you could wish for,and the service was again perfect. If only other hotel chains in Kenya could offer such choice.

Overall, very good service, polite staff who understand the need for customer interaction and who always smile! Their uniforms are very smart, the security teams are very efficient, and not too obvious as they dress in suits, like many of the customers.

I would just like to mention Matthew, who could not do more to be helpful, polite and professional, he and his team made the stay feel so comfortable.

Good work all round, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Splash out for a garden suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsa244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly service, beautiful rooms and delicious meals and not the neatness of the entire facility. My functions at this hotel has NEVER been disappointing, I always long for the next function for me to attend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinationHolidayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very Clean, Attentive and friendly staff. well appointed,

Food and drink can be expensive, but there is plenty of choice, and it is well prepared and fresh.

One downside, the bar doesn't stay open late, and there is rarely evening entertainment if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city. I.e. not obscured by trees.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $246 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing