We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Serena Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serena Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, spacious rooms. The food was wonderful. We would sit by the pools and order from the bar. Great meeting facilities as well. Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    289
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
91
200
47
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, decent food- especially the BBQ by the pool and the curries. The only minor gripe is the check in / out. I would advise paying in cash as I had all sorts of weird charges come through on my Amex for 2 months after my stay.

Room Tip: Pick one at the back. The entrance is noisy late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel.
The rooms are nice size with a nice bathroom and have been updated in the last year or so.
The buffer breakfast was great. A great selection to choice from. Toast toasted to order and same as fried eggs and omelettes.
The curries that are served in the restaurant where amazing.
The staff in all department are great and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A wonderful hotel with a warm and friendly service, spacious rooms and delicious cuisine. A nice central location - near the city centre and set in beautiful gardens. We spent 5 nights at the Serena Lodges & Resorts in Masai Mara and Amboseli National Park and experienced the best locations and services on safari. Great Lodges with glorious views and game drives in 4WD vehicles come with booking a fly-in package. We stayed another night at Nairobi Serena on return from safari as our flight to Seychelles was early the next morning. Memorable experience.
All arranged by Vishal at Safaris Online.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonsamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we got there the door man welcomed us in a nicely, reception was quick and efficient. The room was just perfect.spacious, clean, fully equipped with a lovely private garden. Had lunch in the main restaurant and it was fabulous.There was a lot of choice on the buffet and everything was fresh and tasty.

In the evening we had drinks and bar snacks at Askum bar, although space outside is a little limited Matthew K. and his team went out of their way to accommodate us. Service was very good, food very scrumptious, and the cocktail perfect.

Breakfast had everything you could wish for,and the service was again perfect. If only other hotel chains in Kenya could offer such choice.

Overall, very good service, polite staff who understand the need for customer interaction and who always smile! Their uniforms are very smart, the security teams are very efficient, and not too obvious as they dress in suits, like many of the customers.

I would just like to mention Matthew, who could not do more to be helpful, polite and professional, he and his team made the stay feel so comfortable.

Good work all round, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Splash out for a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsa244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly service, beautiful rooms and delicious meals and not the neatness of the entire facility. My functions at this hotel has NEVER been disappointing, I always long for the next function for me to attend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationHolidayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide roadwarrior
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very Clean, Attentive and friendly staff. well appointed,

Food and drink can be expensive, but there is plenty of choice, and it is well prepared and fresh.

One downside, the bar doesn't stay open late, and there is rarely evening entertainment if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city. I.e. not obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing