We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Offer
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly service, beautiful rooms and delicious meals and not the neatness of the entire facility. My functions at this hotel has NEVER been disappointing, I always long for the next function for me to attend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationHolidayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    283
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worldwide roadwarrior
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very Clean, Attentive and friendly staff. well appointed,

Food and drink can be expensive, but there is plenty of choice, and it is well prepared and fresh.

One downside, the bar doesn't stay open late, and there is rarely evening entertainment if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city. I.e. not obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel has a very central location, which is quite comfortable; very pleasant and helpful staff. I was happy with the 2 swimming pools, water was clean! Gym with full equipment. Really enjoyed the food as well, great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, with excellent décor. The staff is at your disposal and will go out of their way to assist you. The breakfast buffet was really good. The room was immaculate and the turn down service made me feel pampered. The spa was clean and the massage that I got was excellent.

What I liked was how the hotel blends in with the environment. You wake up to birds chirping. The gardens and flowers were well maintained and beautiful. The décor complimented the African culture and heritage.

The hotel is an oasis in the hustle bustle of Nairobi.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I found it convenient to have the room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is ample space to have morning or evening walk. The hotel is centrally located. The business floor is spacious and can have good meetings. The breakfast has variety to chhose from. Food is also good.

Room Tip: Front side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dip12122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Restaurant and bar staff are fantastic, really go out if their way to look after the guests. Gym fully equipped and not busy when i used it early evening. Plenty of areas for meetings, drinks and food. Breakfast great but a little disappointed with food in The Mandhari restaurant, just didn't quite hit the mark. Staff though fantastic. Hotel car sent to collect us was unacceptable due to zero aircon, journey from airport to hotel was bad due traffic, hour and half, so not best pleased when checking in all hot and bothered. Reception deducted the cost and laid on a free return transfer which made up somewhat, but would have preferred not to have melted in the car. My main concern was security- we followed 2 cars into the hotel car park and these cars were allowed in without any checks, we were subject to the normal mirror under the car and boot checks. When we questioned the lack of checks to the 2 cars before us, we were informed that as they were UN cars they did not check them? I feel this is unacceptable and a huge gap in security, one that could be used to devastating effect. When I pointed out the recent attack at the Serena Kabul, the security guys just looked away without fully understanding that terrorists can be anywhere.

Room Tip: Had 3rd floor garden view which was quiet, comfortable and decent aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in Serena as our stopover before visiting the Masai Mara. We stayed two nights then came back and stayed for one night on our way home.

The Serena is not an Intercontinental hotel with marble floors, modern furnishings, and huge empty space rooms, this is the African way of a 5 star hotel and we liked it! If you like the homey feel, comfortable setting, clean rooms, and great staff, then stay here.

The staff was always helpful when I asked questions. The rooms were cleaned nicely when we returned.The restaurant, the spa and the breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing