We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$214
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
$188
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$206
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$154
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
502
344
59
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
344
59
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleading hotels of the worldroom servicevery nice hotelturn down servicelong flightbreakfast buffetan oasisbusy cityrooms are comfortablegift shopsafari tripbusiness hotelmasai maramaghrebsecurityafricagym
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 932 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed here for two one night stays either side of a safari.

The hotel is clean and well equiped. The service at this hotel is excellent - and probably one of the reasons that they are one of the 'leading hotels of the world'.

There are a number of restaurants, we went in the main restaurant for breakfast, this was very nice. We also went into the a la carte restaurant for an evening meal - this was excellent and the service perfect. We also had room service - this too was excellent.

We stayed in a suite in the hotel, this was very good, it was a good size with a very luxurious bathroom.

The hotel pool and gym is also very well equiped and well kept.

The prices for food and drink are good, not cheap, but no where near as expensive as expected.

The hotel has a clear business traveller orientation, however, there are also a number of tourists in the hotel on stop overs between safari. The hotel serves both very well and would reccommend it for either.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rjnorthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, both on arrival and departure before Safari in Kenya. We travel extensively worldwide and in Africa, and have a fairly realistic sense of international quality. This hotel was a dissapointement - the rooms are "fine", but not up to date, and the just did not feel "clean" or top drawer (we switched rooms on our return, so it was not a case of getting an "off" room). The room decor felt very tired. The bathrooms are ok, marble, but small and like the room, very 1970-80. The service was inconsitent, with some staff being excellent, and others being apalling (by way of example, they "forgot" two wake up calls, and when I made a reservation at the front desk for our return, they had no record of it (neither of these were big issues, but they could have created havoc if the hotel were more fully booked)). It felt more like an Airport Hilton, and yet claims to be the top Hotel in Nairobi. I would stay elswhere... its not bad, its just not very good. Serena needs to invest some money in this facility to bring it up to date....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maliblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I stayed at the Serena for 2 nights during a business trip and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel staff was very nice and accomodating. My co-workers reservations were mixed up by our Travel department, but luckily they had open rooms so there was no problem at all. The rooms were a decent size and the shower was very nice. The service in the main restaurant was a bit slow at times, but then again we were always in a hurry to go to another meeting. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaprino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed at the Nairobi Serena Hotel booked by my safari company. The room my wife and I got was a very spacious suite. The hotel is rather secluded with a cool atmosphere. The rooms are great with beautiful decor, spacious and well kept. The service is very wonderful with very helpful staff.

Food was excellent and very delicious. Spent sometime at the health club which is well equipped with wonderful trainers.

Overall, the hotel is wonderful, very nice and found out its a member of the leading hotels of the world. Highly rate and recommend Nairobi Serena Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robertisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

stayed at 5 serena hotels during our recent tour of kenya and this one seemed to be the closest to a 5 star. the hotel was an oasis after a long flight and the traffic jam from the airport. on arrival a complimentary glass of wine was offered and i thought this was a very nice touch. the food was the best out of all the serenas. the only complaint is that the bathroom was very small, so small that my wheelchair could not fit in the bathroom. the room itself was also a little on the small size for the price, but was nicely supplied with wine glasses.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudoldve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews