We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, with excellent décor. The staff is at your disposal and will go out of their way to assist you. The breakfast buffet was really good. The room was immaculate and the turn down service made me feel pampered. The spa was clean and the massage that I got was excellent.

What I liked was how the hotel blends in with the environment. You wake up to birds chirping. The gardens and flowers were well maintained and beautiful. The décor complimented the African culture and heritage.

The hotel is an oasis in the hustle bustle of Nairobi.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I found it convenient to have the room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    312
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
100
223
50
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is ample space to have morning or evening walk. The hotel is centrally located. The business floor is spacious and can have good meetings. The breakfast has variety to chhose from. Food is also good.

Room Tip: Front side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dip12122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Restaurant and bar staff are fantastic, really go out if their way to look after the guests. Gym fully equipped and not busy when i used it early evening. Plenty of areas for meetings, drinks and food. Breakfast great but a little disappointed with food in The Mandhari restaurant, just didn't quite hit the mark. Staff though fantastic. Hotel car sent to collect us was unacceptable due to zero aircon, journey from airport to hotel was bad due traffic, hour and half, so not best pleased when checking in all hot and bothered. Reception deducted the cost and laid on a free return transfer which made up somewhat, but would have preferred not to have melted in the car. My main concern was security- we followed 2 cars into the hotel car park and these cars were allowed in without any checks, we were subject to the normal mirror under the car and boot checks. When we questioned the lack of checks to the 2 cars before us, we were informed that as they were UN cars they did not check them? I feel this is unacceptable and a huge gap in security, one that could be used to devastating effect. When I pointed out the recent attack at the Serena Kabul, the security guys just looked away without fully understanding that terrorists can be anywhere.

Room Tip: Had 3rd floor garden view which was quiet, comfortable and decent aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in Serena as our stopover before visiting the Masai Mara. We stayed two nights then came back and stayed for one night on our way home.

The Serena is not an Intercontinental hotel with marble floors, modern furnishings, and huge empty space rooms, this is the African way of a 5 star hotel and we liked it! If you like the homey feel, comfortable setting, clean rooms, and great staff, then stay here.

The staff was always helpful when I asked questions. The rooms were cleaned nicely when we returned.The restaurant, the spa and the breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Beautiful oasis just in the middle of busy Nairobi.

Very comfortable rooms (although aircon in crap - this is the only thing I could complain about).

Nice outside pool, lush garden and several dining options.

Friendly staff at the hotel.

Excellent location just in the center of Nairobi.

Last time I stayed at this hotel was several years back - it has not changed much (which is good).

I would truly recommend for business or leasure travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav_Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Serena on business. I liked it - pleasant rooms and bar and restaurant areas where it is possible to sit outside and enjoy the climate at any time of day. Lots of options for places to sit and have a drink or hold an informal business discussion. There is a pool in the gardens and it doesn't feel like you are right in the city - given that it is near the downtown area. About 20 minutes from the airport (if you arrive out of the rush hours). Food in the a la carte restaurant upstairs is good and the breakfast buffet and evening informal dining were also good standard. Wifi was efficient too. Staff friendly and efficient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbrdige
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beautiful serene atmosphere, lovely outdoor pool and great restaurant. Staff are friendly and courteous although could be a little faster. There are plenty of comfortable communal areas and the situation of the hotel is easy for the airport and business connections.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UV1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing