We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ideally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely hotel in great location.Great restaurant with theme nights and good Buffet breakfast.Be careful of booking tours through hotel which are very expensive the Karen Blixen museum and giraffe sanctuary are close by so a taxi ride is far cheaper traffic slows the journey but both can be done in an afternoon .Friendly helpful staff .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyjpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    284
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay while in Nairobi. Excellent restaurant and bar. Great pool as well. Rooms are well maintained and well appointed. Service in all areas of the property is excellent. We had come in from a recent stay in Nakuru (Serova Lion Hill Lodge) which was quaint ( code for ' right out of the 50's ') so this was a nice treat. The area seems reasonably safe and there is some semblance of security on the premises which is comforting. Would be nice to have an ATM machine on the property but there's a bank across the street that has one if needed. A few little stores inside the hotel with incidentals makes it convenient if you forgot something.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tondalayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is the perfect hotel in Nairobi. It's central n the front desk staff is very accomidating. Especially Faith and Helen. Faith took the time to find us a reseasonable flight to Mombasa n Kisumu. Amazing buffett there is a huge selection of items. The restaurant staff r always at your device. All the managers n severity guards are so polite. They go out of their way to make ur stay a memory. Laurence goes out of his way to make ur stay comfortable

The hotel itself is very well kept and has a moder touch to it. The ground and the heated swimming pool is very well maintained. The house keeping lady Mercey was the best house keeper I ever had she cleaned the room from top to bottom. The best part of the hotel is every nite there was someone to turn redo your bed so it's ready for u to slip rite in n fall asleep.

The gym is very well maintained with a big variety of equipment. The steam room n sauna is amazing

I would recommend this hotel also because of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Serena chain almost always pleases, and this is no exception. This is an excellent choice of hotel if one wants a secure environment within the City. Located within a very large, park-like area, the Nairobi Serena is fenced in with high security--and that security is needed.

Rooms are straight-forward and comfortable. The staff and service are excellent. The pool and nearby restaurant with pool service is a very nice offering.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our safari and had a day room post safari before our flight home.

Hotel is a great business hotel - you could tell by the clientele in the restaurant and the bar. The rooms were nice. Security felt good though I don't know that I'd walk around outside the hotel compound after dark.

There is a very nice health club but note that you need to be 18 to enter. Our oldest son (17) got in no problem but our 15 year old son was denied and we could not get him in. I was told it was a private health club, not part of the hotel, but 18+ hotel guests are allowed guest privileges.

If I was travelling to Nairobi on business I would definitely stay here. If I was travelling on safari I would stay here again too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Serena in Baurobu for two nights and had a wonderful stay. The too
S were good though a little dated, but we equipped. Great toiletries, very good and attentive service. The buffet meals were really very good with amazing choice definitely 5 star. We have 3 children and they were well accommodated for, the staff were kind and nothing was a bother.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenya1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumee, oh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I did a week at the Serena, part of it with business associates along. Most of the time I ate at the hotel and made extensive use of their business center. On several occasions I had more than a few guests including government officials and security personnel.
We would have driven many other hotels "bonkers" but not the Serena.
Let's start with the rooms. My floor had staff available all the time. It was like coming home to a village. They would straighten my tie, pick up things in my room several times a day and generally keep track of me. These were good people.
The room was perfect and the housekeeping staff better.
The business center had IT staff available 24 hours a day. Everything worked perfectly.
Hotel staff in general were well trained, authoritative and highly professional. This is a very friendly hotel with a courteous staff. I got to know a number of hotel staff quite well.
The primary restaurant is an all day buffet, 3 meals with great food and seating in or outdoors including pool side.
Food is exceptional, service better. I used only one restaurant, which was more than enough. Fresh fruit, perfect espresso, anything you could desire.
Never order a steak in Kenya.
Hotel ground were beautiful and well maintained.
The hotel bar and meeting rooms are exceptional and well laid out.
Security is a big issue in Kenya and the hotel has a large but unobtrusive security staff.
Hotel supplies transporation and I almost always had a car or bus or something arranged on a moments notice.
If all of Kenya is like this hotel, Kenya is one of the friendliest nations on earth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing