We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful conference facilities. Getting there can be a nightmare during rush hour and sometimes parking is a problem. The location is so walking distance from the central business district which is big plus if interested in a stroll. Quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    284
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

just returned from 11 day safari and we stayed at the serena for 4 days & 3 nights. what a stunning hotel! security very good - bags scanned, mirror under car etc. clean good lobby, lovely staff & quick check in. room had bottle of wine & fruit basket for free to invite you to the hotel. room large, large bed, safe, mini bar, telephone, toiletries (from the uk). our room also had iron & ironing board. bathroom very clean and over bath shower. buffet breakfast was huge and varied - you could eat what you wanted - ordered mushroom omlette from our table but there was croissant, sausage cereals - the full monty! main restaurant mandahari is 2* michelin chef but we never tried it. pool bar reasonable ie £12 for huge beefburger and we also had pepper steak with fries for £12. huge piece of steak! pool area clean and towels available there many people used it for it was a very clean pool. bottles of tusker were 375 kes (£3,00) at the aksum bar where you could sit outside even in the evening - it was november and you didnt need a jumper!! so good enough for us. when we went back for 1 day at the hotel after our safari my husband was surprised - the bar staff & the pool restaurant manager remembered us even after 8 days!! super staff!! would definately recommend and stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: need a beautiful hotel in nairobi = SERENA IS IT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of Nairobi, high security within a beautiful garden setting. Security is important in Nairobi after the shopping mall tragedy. OUr initial accommodation was changed to this hotel due to their safety precautions. Room was very large with all amenities and nicely appointed. The complex has a good sized pool and several restaurants to choose from for dining. The staff were extremely polite and courteous and no request was too much trouble. We booked a driver and car for a day to show us around Nairobi and were not disappointed with the tour. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisaD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed for couple of nights in this hotel during my Kenya trip. The room was big and clean with firm bed. As per my booking, I got a room with the city view and they unlocked the window open immediately on my request. The room service was really quick.
Breakfast was the finest thing for me. Being I am from India, I was really surprised to see Indian food servings on both day in breakfast.

I will definitely stay in this hotel during my next visit!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubhash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived from London on an overnight flight and they gave us our rooms by 10am - great, being able to catch up up on some sleep. Nice big rooms, big, firm bed. We ate at the pool lunchtime and the Cafe Maghreb in the evening. Both excellent and reasonable cost given the level of service. Bottles of wine started around GBP20 and there is a wide range of food available. Breakfast (included on our Kuoni safari) was excellent. Wifi (free) worked well too. At the end of our trip we'd paid extra for a day room, which was good for taking a nap and charging tablets for the overnight flight back. Others on our tour stayed round the pool and found everyone welcoming. So, hardly cheap but good quality, friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is the place to stay if at all possible. Safe, high security, beautiful rooms, excellent food (oh the morning buffet is a wonder). The only good thing about leaving is that we were moving on to another beautiful Serena Lodge. Book ahead for the massages as spaces book out. Yoga in the gym was complimentary and an unexpected gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not too much to say, as we were only staying here for 5 hours overnight, before catching a connecting flight, but the reception/bar area smelled of smoke. The corridors and rooms reminded me of a dated Hilton hotel. Standard double room and tiny bathroom with cracked sink and tiny bath. Underwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJH190576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to patronize Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued comments arising out of your short stay dated 13th November 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Going forward the hotel recognizes the need to upgrade our guest products and attention will be paid to the areas of concern.

Kindly note that management’s objective continues to be consistent delivery of professional service by ensuring that guests’ expectations are exceeded and giving value for money.

With Kind Regards

Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing