We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
504
347
59
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
347
59
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleading hotels of the worldroom servicevery nice hotellong flightafrican artbreakfast buffetan oasisbusy cityrooms are comfortablecentral locationgift shopsafari tripbusiness hotelmasai maramaghrebsecuritygym
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 937 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not too much to say, as we were only staying here for 5 hours overnight, before catching a connecting flight, but the reception/bar area smelled of smoke. The corridors and rooms reminded me of a dated Hilton hotel. Standard double room and tiny bathroom with cracked sink and tiny bath. Underwhelming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJH190576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to patronize Nairobi Serena Hotel.

We have noted your valued comments arising out of your short stay dated 13th November 2013.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Going forward the hotel recognizes the need to upgrade our guest products and attention will be paid to the areas of concern.

Kindly note that management’s objective continues to be consistent delivery of professional service by ensuring that guests’ expectations are exceeded and giving value for money.

With Kind Regards

Joyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

At the entrance of the door security check with bags' x-ray. The style of the reception hall in a very traditional african manner and nothing is too much here. We were taken into the room immideately after check-in, but no room with double bed was available for the moment. We were promised to get the room after noon. The promise was fullfilled and we were even upgraded to garden suite. Very comfortable and spatious rooms. Big and nice bathroom. We enjoyed staying there. Very delicious breakfast with a good variety of food for any taste. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great decor,swahili themed woodwork is AMAZING.
Excellent suite/Rooms setting amidst the busy Nairobi traffic-couldn't hear any noise! Very good attention to client needs and great amenities,I especially liked the provision of ironing facilites in the suite. I forgot some of my documents n the room and was pleasantly surprised to find them intact a few weeks later....WELL DONE NAIROBI SERENA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kishindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business at Serena for 5 nights. Excellent service in everyway. Very regal and lush. Lovely rooms. Sounds of tree frogs in the evenings. Delicious food. Loved it. I can imaginea great place for the start or end of a holiday. I will be back and tagging some chill time onto it to get an even better experience next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel and grounds. Great Staff. Often had a security guard sitting outside of our floor at elevator. We felt their presence and felt very safe. Hotel room, great and well appointed. Towels luscious and large, Staff brought a vase of flowers to our room with a basket of fruit and a rose for our bathroom. Flat screen TV. Very big safe, large enough for our cameras. mini bar , reasonable prices. King size bed and very comfortable.
Elevator could be temperamental but fine. Good shops in lobby although a bit pricy.
Large heated pool with great seating area. restaurant terrific and had table close to the pool for evening meal. quite nice. food wise, all food in Africa is OK but in our opinion not fantastic. certainly not a country for steaks. Service was good. Buffet very good. In Africa, everywhere we went tipping is expected and solicited. Had a mistake with our wake up call, which was not good. they called 1 hour too early. called at 5 instead of 6:30. Check in could have been better. not good attention. was servicing us then started to serve another who came after us. we had to wait, then he came back to us. we don't like that. expect individual attention not a group check in feeling.. Great porters and bellman.
Grounds really lovely. There was a weddign going on when we were there ( or at least takign pictures). there is a pond with very small frogs and a lovely bridge. the trees and birds were great

Room Tip: We had view of the gardens and pool, feel that is best
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews