We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a great hotel all the way around. The food, the staff, the rooms were all five star. The desk was helpful with places to eat, changing money and arranging transportation. I will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the fitness center, one of my colleagues said it got a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 890 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed just one night en route from safari to Mauritius. We were looked after very well and were upgraded to a garden suite, which was huge. The hotel was lovely and the guests were a good mix, though looked mainly to be there on business but guess that the location dictates that.

We ate in Cafe Maghreb, which was lovely and not too expensive for a capital city hotel of this scale. The poolside setting on a lovely warm evening was very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: Although it's close to a main road we didn't notice much noise nor did we notice much noise...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Serena Nairobi for 2 nights, one because we arrived in Nairobi very late one night and one because we wanted to explore Nairobi a bit before heading out to safari. Yes, it is expensive, but we had a very spacious suite, with a great sitting room and a beautiful bedroom. Everything worked - beds were comfortable, lights worked, internet was fine. We ate breakfast in the dining room and found the service a little slow but still acceptable. I'd recommend the crepes- good toppings, crepes made fresh. We were exhausted our second night and ordered room service, which was fine and quick. My only quibble- I was quite surprised that the shower had mold along the grout, not hard to fix with a little bleach (the room and the bathroom itself were both very clean) and the staff were very apologetic and embarrassed when told, so the problem may well be resolved. It is an easy walk into town. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stampwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We used this hotel as our stopover hotel between visiting Nairobi, the Masai Mara, and Rwanda. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the previous reviews. We had rooms 501 and 317.
We stayed three nights then came back and stayed for one night on our way home.

My husband and I travel quite a bit for scuba diving. As we have traveled more and more, I tend to try to book us at hotels that have a higher level of comfort, but not extreme. I do not need to have the "Taj Majal" look or feel to feel "pampered". If you are used to rooming in Intercontinental hotels with marble floors, modern furnishings, and huge empty space rooms, this is NOT the hotel for you. If you like the homey feel, comfortable setting, clean rooms, and great staff, then stay here.

Yes, its an older hotel, but I did not feel that that I did not get my monies worth. There was more than sufficient room for us and our luggage. There was enough dresser space and closet space for clothes taken out for our first three days. The furnishings and décor had a "homey" feeling. The bed was close to the size of our king sized bed at home, a bit hard for us. That's not their fault. The air conditioning unit was a bit loud, but it's like background noise; overtime you ignore it.

The breakfast buffet was great. Unless you are really picky about your food, there was food for anyone's palate. Fresh fruit, baked breads, crepes to order, local breakfast foods, omelets to order, juices, coffee, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. We got the room package that had the buffet included.

The staff was always helpful when I asked questions. The rooms were cleaned nicely when we returned.

AS to location, I could not answer that. We had a private driver that picked us up and took us out.
They had a spa, but we did not use it. Had other things to occupy our time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Serena Hotel is probably one of the more convenient hotels to stay while in Nairobi.
The hotel is conveniently located, if you just got off the plane in Kenyatta Airport (which is around 40 minutes away) unless you hit rush hour traffic.

The hotel is also suitable for business meetings, with nice lobby waiting area plus a very quiet business lounge area for a good private business meeting. The coffee house is located on the ground floor, and serves good breakfast buffet spread. There is also a nice outdoor area with view of the swimming pool, nice for cool mornings or late afternoons.

But this hotel with its overall wood finishing needs a bit of an upgrade. The rooms are rather cramp, with old airconditioning and very tight shower/tub.

Room Tip: Good for a short stay, great convenient leap off point for a safari trip.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Useful stopover for late arrivers being near airport (but on reflection maybe we should have just taken a night flight and connected direct). A plus is as it backs on to a game park you can get your first glimpses of Giraffe & Zebra.
In design and function its a classic city 4 star hotel that you'd find worldwide. But we did find the restaurant staff inattentive - I had to leave my table to ask for menus, then I walked up to place an order and to pay. In contrast concierge & reception were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Serena is your typical comfortable hotel. Situated across a park from the central business district, it is convenient if you want to go into town but difficult with traffic especially in the mornings and evenings. We stayed one night en route to Samburu and I felt safe enough in the morning to walk around the nearby streets and the park, but was advised not to venture too far into another section of the park. The room we had was a fairly typical hotel style, clean, good beds, tv, internet etc. Ours was a bit noisy since we were at the end of the fourth floor where the airconditioning plant was whirring away all night, although I still slept well.
They have comfortable lounge and bar areas downstairs, with efficient staff for reservations, currency exchange etc. They take security seriously, with under-car inspections and metal detectors at the doors. The main restaurant was excellent. We had a marvellous meal there with great service and some fine piano playing for entertainment although it wasn't busy. The breakfast cafe also had a fine range of well-prepared dishes.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the aircon
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $247 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing