We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were held up by the Nairobi airport fire for 5 days, having been staying in Zanzibar. For our two final days before we got a flight, our agent booked us into Serena. We were impressed by the helpfulness of the staff who assisted us in sorting our delay out. The pool area is lovely, so peaceful with sunbeds with mattresses and towels provided ready for you to relax. Two parks nearby to take a walk.. The restaurant was amazing, so much choice and the puddings were to die for!! We sampled 'fish night' and 'Swahili night', they were brilliant. Staff recommended a half day out to the National Park, well worth it to see giraffe, zebra, buffalo, croc and many more. Loved the bed made for 3 as well!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 910 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Serena and found it to be comfortable. Although not the most modern, the hotel’s common areas and rooms were spacious, the lobby was welcoming and the check-in/out was efficient.

The hotel is located in a central government office area, away from the Nairobi downtown ‘party zone’. We had cocktails at Aksum bar, which were very nice. The breakfast was a varied spread by the pool on a lovely day.

I am not sure if this would be is a 5 star property elsewhere, but overall we had a comfortable night and would recommend this for transit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only stayed one night prior to safari.

Both reassuring and off-putting to hav your tour vehicle searched underneath with mirrors for bombs on arrival and then have your luggage and yourself scanned... that's a first for us!

Room was fine..standard city hotel room. Bathroom a bit tired but acceptable. Grateful to be able to have the room from 9am when we arrived exhausted from overnight flight. Bed very comfortable.

We only had drinks by the pool later in the day and then room service in the evening -all very good. Breakfast next morning was very good.

Checkout-bizarrely charged us several thousand shillings more than they should have. When we noticed and challenged it, they just shrugged their shoulders and corrected the bill! Were they trying it on or not as the bill was nothing like it should have been?BEWARE!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Pernickety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been staying at the Serena for many years on business trips. It's comfortable and spacious, but the rooms are tired (and I was in a refurbished one!). The lights could only be turned off at the door as the bedside switches were broken; The clothes cupboard door slid open on it's own accord which activated the in cupboard light at all hours of the night. Breakfast was reasonable but eggs had to be ordered from the kitchen which took a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Nairobi Serena is located in the heart of the city, with decent rooms.

The hotel is well done up, with decent lobby.
However the age of the hotel shows in the rooms as well as the elevators, which are a bit old fashioned.

We ate dinner at the Maghreb Restaurant, which served average food.

Recommended as a business hotel, and not as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Air Conditioning is a problem in many rooms. Make sure you choose a room in which the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Cannot say enough lovely things about this hotel - everything about the service was incredible. We ahd a lovely visit. The restaurants had excellent food, the spa was a great place to visit. The woman working in the spa's locker room helped us blowdry our hair, was really kind... our room was well appointed, and very reasonably priced. The shower was great ( though after days on safari, we put it through its paces). Our driver didn't show up as scheduled one day so the doorman arranged for us to be escorted and taken around and returned to the hotel, he negotiated a great price for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctraveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Outside of South Africa, Africa is certainly not known for good service in hotels. It can be friendly but it's never very professional nor is it efficient.

Such is not the case at the Serena where the staff is not only nice but they are professional and efficient. When somebody tells you now, it means now and not the African next hour! This compliment applies to all departments, so a lot of congratulations to the management as it must not easy to train staff that way on the continent were it's unknown, and where by the way there are no proper hotel diplomas.

In addition the rooms are nice even if somewhat small, nicely furnished, beds are comfortable, bathrooms in perfect working condition and very clean with possibly the best amenities one could dream about; if I had one complaint, a small one, I would say that the TV sets and the quality of reception could both be improved.

I had a couple of small issues, the details being uninteresting here, and I would like to point out that one of the duty managers, a gentleman named Simon Kiberenge, proved to be so efficient and at the same time so extremely courteous that I couldn't believe I was in Africa, I thought I was in Thailand the country of the best hotel service in the world.

As for the food, the buffets be it breakfasts or main meals are very good and nicely presented; I would not be quite as enthusiastic with more sophisticated courses which if nicely presented are too often somewhat tasteless. But service in both restaurants is as usual in this hotel absolutely perfect. Having stayed a few days I had the opportunity to meet one of the F&B managers, David Shitaka, who was also a true professional: what a pleasure for somebody like me always on the road!

As any reader will have understood, I will be a return client.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HGBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,199 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $218 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing