We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Downtown Nairobi Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

On a recent safari trip we stayed four nights in the Nairobi Serena Hotel. It is centrally located,
clean, modern, and well equipped. Check-in and luggage services were quick and efficient,
as was check-out, The rooms are good size and modern in every way. The pool, bar, and
restaurants are all very good, though service in the main restaurant is slow. If we return to
Nairobi, we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 897 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Nairobi Serena for 2 nights as we arrived late from the UK and were off to the David Sheldrick elephant orphanage the next day.

You are received with a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Having been escorted to your room, which for the first night was a standard room, the first thing we noticed was just how clean and airy it was. A welcome bowl of fruit and sparkling wine also were on hand.

As we arrived late we had room service which was prompt and the food hot.

Having settled down for the night in the King sized bed, there was a continuous humming sound that disrupted our sleep. Although we called the duty manager 3 times unfortunately no one came to see what the problem was (it turned out to be an issue with the extractor fans or something in that part of the hotel.)

In the morning the manager came to see us personally and could not apologise enough for the inconvenience. We just asked that the problem got fixed by the evening so we could have a good night’s sleep. After coming back from the David Sheldrick Elephant Sanctuary the hotel met us at the entrance and had upgraded up to a suite plus free dinner for two that evening as a goodwill gesture. They did not need to do that but it was a wonderful gesture and one we were very grateful for. The suite itself was as big as my downstairs lounge, dining room and kitchen put together and there was even a choice of 7 different types of pillow !

If you have time there is also an outdoor swimming pool that looked inviting and some lovely gardens around the hotel to stroll around.

If you want a very comfortable and relaxing stay with good food and excellent friendly hospitality then I would thoroughly recommend a stay here before or after your safari.

Room Tip: Hairdryers are supplied and there are UK 3 pin plug sockets. Towels and toiletries are also provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our group stayed at the Nairobi Serena one night prior to leaving on safari and one night at the conclusion of our safari. In both stays the check in process was smooth, the room was good sized, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very modern with great water pressure in the shower. We had a couple of quick meals at the pool side restaurant that were very nice. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide selection of food available. I would highly recommend the Serena to anybody traveling to Nairobi.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I learned that is Hotel is over 20 years old but it is very impressive and in tip top shape at the same time it is not run down like Nairobi Hilton Hotel . Finally , I recommend this Hotel if you came to Nairobi for business , pleurae or just transit. O I forgot their food is excellent.

Thanks & Regards

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s9642689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel is stylish and room are well appointed ...staff are very friendly and warm and bar dinning is stunning have to recommend to any traveller as you will not be disappointed .. I will be back again next year on next African adventures

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The property number one had high security upon arrival and the entire time we were present. The restaurant was exceptional and the buffet delicious and too much to choice from. The wait staff was very friendly. I found the Kenya coffee spectacular! The room was very large and just exceptionally one of the most luxurious rooms I have have encountered! I highly recommend this gorgeous property to anyone visiting Nairobi

Room Tip: I would suggest the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First trip to Nairobi and the hotel was picked to be close to my business appointments. Good choice though. Hotel itself was warm and welcoming. Staff very friendly and courteous. Rooms were a little tired but I had a good nights sleep, and a decent hot shower.
Breakfast was good. Pancakes should just be pancakes, right?, but these were just mouthwateringly good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkeinOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,300 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $224 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing