We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service!! Food!! Location !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service!! Food!! Location !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a meeting in Nairobi and my husband and I decided to make it into a holiday. I had never before stayed with any Serena property. I entrusted them with our itinerary, and they did not disappoint. We had a stunning room laden with flowers. Someone must have overheard when I mentioned how much I loved the orange roses, because the next day, I had two bouquets. The decor is lovely and comfortable. The breakfast, menu an buffet, great deal and plentiful. Everything was fresh and delicious. Eating poolside, one can tell that this is business-lunch central. At night, the restaurant was delicious. We enjoyed a lovely dinner. Best..the service at the hotel was exemplary. Concierge arranged our entire two week itinerary. We stayed with Serena at three properties. Would have been 4, but we had to cancel Mombasa. A wonderful property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_mtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    289
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
91
201
47
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was there for business. The food was good and prompt. The service was warm and efficient. It was a packed house but they were quite effective! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The surroundings were pretty serene. It being so close to the CBD it was quite a good shock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Serena in May. Close to 40 years since my last visit. I enjoyed it as much this time as then. Serena is still charming.

My room was modern and kept clean.

Restaurants offer good value. Breakfast is excellent.

Staff in reception and in the restaurant provide excellent service.

Internett worked fine in the room and in the reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eventhough this Hotel is located in a park in the middle of the city it feels a bit like being in a safari lodge. Decor is african-style but somewhat oldfashioned... Service is good, staff were very helpful, attentive and willing to help with everything. I was very happy about that... My room was reasonably spacious, bathroom rather small. Nice bar and a very pleasant seating area in the garden by the pool. It looked like parts of the hotel were undergoing renovation during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTheChecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Serena feels like a safari lodge that somehow ended up in a park in the middle of the city. If you're interested in being in "Africa", and being reminded of that constantly, this is your hotel. It is not, however, a modern luxury hotel full of glass and sleek modern design - for that look elsewhere.

That said, the service is very good - attentive, always present, and willing to help with everything. The rooms themselves are reasonably spacious, though the bathrooms are very cramped.

Food is the high point - a very good breakfast buffet, a lovely upstairs restaurant, and a very pleasant seating area by the pool. The gym is exceptional for my US-influenced experience - a real weights facility and wood-floored studio, right next to the aforementioned pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arithorn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As much as I love the Serena Kampala, this property does not compare. The decor is on the tacky and unoriginal side (framed common kente from Ghana, Kuba cloth from Congo, etc.) and sort of screams " you are in Africa!" but does not inspire or stimulate. The furniture is mostly dark wood veneer and very outdated in esthetic. More disappointingly is the lack of customer-focus from the staff. For example, the concierge was unable to suggest any restaurant options except for Carnivore and the receptionist just pushed their seafood buffet. Service at the restaurant the one evening I ate there was rather indifferent bordering on rude. Breakfast buffet is fine and coffee excellent. Gym was a bit out of the way but very functional. I also had a room next to elevator and I heard the motor most of the night. I will not return to this property.next time in Nairobi as there are better options with higher standards of service and design.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room ending with 15 as this is close to one of the elevators and you heard the motor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I think this hotel probably is at a pointtht it need an uplift. The grounds and food were very nice and the bar area is comfortable. The room was just ok, no wow to it and the bathroom was the smallest I have been in for some time. It's clean and functional but I didn't get a sense of luxury to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing