We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Past Glory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Past Glory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel in our way to Amboseli. It is obvious that this hotel had a glorious past.
It definitely needs renovation. Yet everything else is good. The staff are very friendly. Buffet breakfast and Buffet dinner were great...
Room space is average. Yet we had a nice garden view from our room ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wassim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    293
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
94
205
48
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Treated so well during my business trip stay at this hotel. Lovely, efficient and friendly staff. Daily newspaper was pushed through my room every morning, buffet breakfast was unreal as was evening meal in restaurant. I never had to ask for anything during my stay because the hotel staff went out of their way. Really looking forward to staying here again on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nairobi Serena is a fantastic hotel for the business traveller. I stayed here from 22nd to 24th April and this was my third stay. The staff will always make you feel welcomed and at home. It is an excellent venue for business meetings both formal and informal not forgetting the cuisine. The location is great as you can walk or take a cab into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibopalacehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a business meeting here and was very pleased. Room was nice. Business dinner upstairs on outside balcony was excellent. Meeting facilities were good. Only slight disappointment was lunch at the buffet which was average.

Grounds are very nice. A breadth of tranquility in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOP_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although in the city center you don't hear the noise coming from the million cars driving though the city. Hotel is kept well, it's clean and rooms of acceptable size. The bar is rather busy at night but gives it a good atmosphere. The gym is big and well equipped. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailaway1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did stay here one night this to start ou safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris. The welcome was friendly and correct. The (connected) rooms were complete and in a very nice "african" style. Superb beds assured us a good night rest ! And last but not least the breakfast buffet is more than complete ..as well the great and attentive service ! We can recommend !

Room Tip: connecting rooms are peffect when travelling wth children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jswinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great breakfast buffet for all ages and tastes
Very clean room, quiet and all amenities --minus Qtip.
Love the atmosphere, you feel very welcome from the start.
Security at the front of the hotel securing entries of vehicles and making sure only guests are coming in.
Would recommend it to anyone visiting Nairobi. Great staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiasWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing