We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Luxury, luxury, luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxury, luxury, luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here one night between Kilimanjaro travels and "roughing it" in the bush. I don't know if my being overjoyed was a result relative to my recent experiences, but I was literally jumping and squealing once the doors were closed. The rooms feel plush and high-end, with attention to detail. We're from New York, so we know what we're talking about. As soon as we settled in, we ordered room service, which was great. The food was above average (for Africa). Breakfast was a great feast. The hotel offered what felt like mountains of food. A huge assortment of freshly prepared juices, breads, pastries, cereals, hot items, etc. We were happy, but sad to check out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    283
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although I only spent 2 days at the Serena hotel, I must admit that I had a quite positive stay. With highly attentive and friendly staff and beautiful seating areas; Serena is one of the best and descent hotels I have ever visited in Nairobi. The hotel is located in perfect and very welcoming grounds (Uhuru Park Gardens). Although generally the hotel is cool, I observed several negatives about it. The meals and rooms are too expensive for the room size as well as the quality of meals. All the breakfasts were complete though very dull. Besides, the check in process is very slow as the clerk took about half an hour to get me checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edawatulo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Service excellent, room was small but well appointed, clean and everything worked. Used the massage facilities which were excellent as well. Had supper in the hotel excellent Indian food! Breakfast was fast friendly and impressive in regards to range. Great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on floors 3 upwards less noise and no foot traffic found on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here before and after a safari and it was just fine. The rooms are comfortable, the buffet breakfast wonderful, and the staff helpful. Our only regret was that we were so busy that we really didn’t get a chance to enjoy the hotel’s amenities. Our two stays here bracketed a journey (or should I say safari) for two shepherded by Aramati Safaris. We worked with John Ndegwa and our guide and driver was Eldad Muita. Both were awesome. Besides seeing many awesome sights and experiencing some of the culture, we were well-cared for, listened to, and comfortable (well, as comfortable as possible given the Kenyan and Tanzanian roads). Both of these men went way beyond what was necessary – even to the point of purchasing a camera for us in Nairobi and getting it delivered to us in the Masai Mara when mine broke enroute. We enjoyed our visit so much that we are contemplating a return visit to see Kenya and Tanzania beyond the parks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyeSandye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This month I stayed at the Serena for a couple of nights before and after a 3 week Safari trip. It was a great place to rest after a grueling flight getting to Kenya and a great place to recoup and recorganized after the Safari getting ready for the return to the US. Rooms are plenty large enough, well appointed, and comfortable. The staff is great and very interested in your comfort. Don't expect fast service from the restaurant staff they are expecting you to relax and assume you are not in a hurry.

Most importantly you feel completely safe and isolated from the surrounding city and unfamiliar environment of the big city third world city of Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckatShowMeStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in October 2012,for one night only, prior to setting off on safari and, based on our very positive experience, I have to agree with most reviewers. This is an outstanding hotel, serene and tranquil, despite its proximity to central Nairobi and Uhuru Park. Facilities are excellent; staff treated us, without exception, with pleasantness and first-class service: nothing was any trouble. Security, at the entrance, in the gardens and throughout the accommodation floors allayed any possible fears. Food was very good indeed, with a range of dining options, the pool area being an idyllic setting. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would be delighted to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here in August on a safari trip to Kenya and loved it. Great pool environment. Excellent rooms. Lobby really nice environment. Staff very professional. Location near downtown very convenient. Food restaurants very good. A true world class hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing