We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nairobi Serena the best way station before and after your Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Brewer, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nairobi Serena the best way station before and after your Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This month I stayed at the Serena for a couple of nights before and after a 3 week Safari trip. It was a great place to rest after a grueling flight getting to Kenya and a great place to recoup and recorganized after the Safari getting ready for the return to the US. Rooms are plenty large enough, well appointed, and comfortable. The staff is great and very interested in your comfort. Don't expect fast service from the restaurant staff they are expecting you to relax and assume you are not in a hurry.

Most importantly you feel completely safe and isolated from the surrounding city and unfamiliar environment of the big city third world city of Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckatShowMeStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    293
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
94
205
48
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in October 2012,for one night only, prior to setting off on safari and, based on our very positive experience, I have to agree with most reviewers. This is an outstanding hotel, serene and tranquil, despite its proximity to central Nairobi and Uhuru Park. Facilities are excellent; staff treated us, without exception, with pleasantness and first-class service: nothing was any trouble. Security, at the entrance, in the gardens and throughout the accommodation floors allayed any possible fears. Food was very good indeed, with a range of dining options, the pool area being an idyllic setting. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would be delighted to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here in August on a safari trip to Kenya and loved it. Great pool environment. Excellent rooms. Lobby really nice environment. Staff very professional. Location near downtown very convenient. Food restaurants very good. A true world class hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a 1 night stop over in Nairobi before our safari. What a lovely Hotel. Secure, clean, friendly staff, great meals. Our only dissapointment was that we arrived in the evening and left early the next morning so did not get to enjoy this Hotel as much as we would have liked. We did spend some time sitting out by the lovely pool and could not believe we were in the middle of Nairobi it was so quiet. You cant go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulmanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of the finest hotels we have stayed in...beautiful rooms with all the amenities, including robes & slippers. A gorgeous pool area, luxurious spa facilities, a great gym with saunas, steams, showers, lockers and all the equipment you could want.
There are several restaurants to choose from, an excellent gift shop with affordable prices, beautiful art pieces all over the hotel. A courteous, helpful staff, lots of security, an attractive bar, a salon with full services, a lounge and free Wifi.
The lobby area is beautifully appointed and the concierge and business services are readily available.

Room Tip: The rooms over the pool have a lovelier view, but the rooms over the entrance are quieter as one doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel is somewhat dated in terms of decor but everyone is very nice, friendly and good service. Had a bad experience ordering food in the bar however - waited 40 minutes and cancelled the order for chicken wings. Not sure where they were getting them from! Stick to the restaurant where possible!

Being able to bill taxis to the hotel bill directly saved me a big headache.

Friendly staff.

When next in Nairobi I will probably try a different hotel but wouldn't cry if I had to stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the corner as the traffic will keep you awake and disturb you during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very clean and it's very proximity to the Nairobi City centre. It's a walking distance to the town. They have ample packing and their staff are most helpful. Their meals are wonderful and the rooms are very clean. You get value for your money.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the popular Central park and town centre are wonderful. You get a very good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FavourSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing