We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well run”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Modern and well run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been staying here regularly for the last 5 years. Always excellent and friendly service from the team. Great lap pool. Very nice buffet dining room for breakfast and lunch. Nice bar. Small but efficient business centre. Well equipped gym frequented by local VIPs .

Room Tip: City view is best, And the 3 garden suites are very nice with sun lounger and gazebo and direct ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    316
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
100
225
51
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Nairobi Serena Hotel! I loved the atmosphere, the art, the meals and the friendly and service-minded staff. The room was large and comfortable with a large lovely bed. The pool area was beautiful and relaxing. I even had the opportunity to join a salsa course for the first time at the gym, quite different from skiing in Norway. I would love to come back!

Room Tip: Don´t be to close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Been to the Niarobi Serena many times, as it is a lovely hotel and we like to stay here before and after safaris. On our last visit however we were not so happy. The problem was having to vacate the room by 10am when your BA flight to London departs at almost midnight. We asked if it was possible to keep the room for a little longer, and were told the hotel was full and they needed the rooms,(which is fair enough),but if we paid then it would be ok to keep the rooms until 6pm, but the charge would be about 150 dollars per room. We paid, but felt the charge was a little excessive, as most hotels would not charge as much.Having said all that we will probably return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Classic design and lay-out. The collection of jewelry, masks, musical instruments, etc. from various countries makes waiting for the elevator a pleasure! Rooms are comfortable and functional. Those with views of the Central Park are to be recommended. Restaurants are good and the service is exemplary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Nairobi Serena is a very relaxing, great quality hotel that is well located in the city centre. The service is given with a smile by dedicated staff.

The rooms are clean and well serviced despite not being particularly generously proportioned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for a night before a trip to the Masai Mara and then we returned to the Serena a few days later for a conference and we then stayed for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the number of security guards on each floor as well as even a security guard on duty around the pool as well as guards around the gardens. It appears that the Serena takes security very seriously. We had a delightful stay and everyone was very friendly. We ate poolside a couple of times. The food was fine, nothing extraordinary but adequate. But the breakfasts were great! We had room service breakfasts which he ordered the night before in order to save time in the morning. All in all, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodhikers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Serena for One week in October. I did not feel alien which is very reassuring especially for a first-time visitor. The staff were professional all the way, smiled and offered assistance whenever encountered. There are some things that could be improved such as Lobby decor (hard to understand the asian influences and african art; some of which is cheap-looking and reproductions). The bed was also hard, even after being moved to a different room. A/C blew up a musty cigarette smell which my business partner also encountered in his room. However, the rooms were clean, updated decor-wise, ample towels in bathroom and slippers. The WiFi was also good as was the in-room internet. The Serena excudes an air of reassurance & confidence like an old well worn briefcase, smart wool coat, or classic car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing