We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Serena Hotel for a night before a trip to the Masai Mara and then we returned to the Serena a few days later for a conference and we then stayed for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the number of security guards on each floor as well as even a security guard on duty around the pool as well as guards around the gardens. It appears that the Serena takes security very seriously. We had a delightful stay and everyone was very friendly. We ate poolside a couple of times. The food was fine, nothing extraordinary but adequate. But the breakfasts were great! We had room service breakfasts which he ordered the night before in order to save time in the morning. All in all, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodhikers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 913 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Serena for One week in October. I did not feel alien which is very reassuring especially for a first-time visitor. The staff were professional all the way, smiled and offered assistance whenever encountered. There are some things that could be improved such as Lobby decor (hard to understand the asian influences and african art; some of which is cheap-looking and reproductions). The bed was also hard, even after being moved to a different room. A/C blew up a musty cigarette smell which my business partner also encountered in his room. However, the rooms were clean, updated decor-wise, ample towels in bathroom and slippers. The WiFi was also good as was the in-room internet. The Serena excudes an air of reassurance & confidence like an old well worn briefcase, smart wool coat, or classic car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed for 5 nights . veg indian food is execellent . went to all the other hotels but serena is a class apart in nairobi except the only comparable is fairmount. the staff is very helpful and the view is very nice. the hotel is the best in nairobi. security is very good. the duty manager lameck kimaru helped me a lot. also the chef cooked few indian dishes not in the menu. the hotel pickup is also nice.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden and on the 4th floor and if taking executive room then the first floor is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We only spent one night here as we were traveling on to the Masai Mara for a safari. The hotel is very safe, well maintained, clean, beautifully decorated and convenient to the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also arranged a 2 hour tour (without any notice) with a great driver whose English was excellent who then drove us to the city and the sights. The food is what I would rate as average. I do understand we are out of the states, so I was not totally surprised even though our food on the safari was actually better. I looked at a lot of the other hotels on our tour and was not impressed with their appearance from the exterior. We did not see any animals from the hotel but very much enjoyed their outside seating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed four nights at the Serena on a business trip. Unfortunately since it was a business trip, I did not get the chance to do much except go to the office but I will say the following:
1. I believe the hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi's city centre
2. The reception and lobby area were very impressive, spacious and welcoming
3. The breakfast spread was fantastic and you have to try the omelets especially if you like them well done. I absolutely enjoyed it and without having to request for it, I got a nice, firm omelet unlike the quickly prepared runny ones that I have had in some other hotels
4. The room was very spacious and I think the bed was king sized. The bathroom has enough space, lovely toiletries and huge towels (too big for me). One of the two reasons why I did not rate this at excellent is because there were mosquitoes in the room and even though there is provision for an anti-repellant in the room, it was not replaced on the third and fourth nights and I did get bitten whilst I was working in the evenings.
5. The second reason for not rating it as excellent is the internet connection. It just didnt work except for one evening. The rest of the time I just could not log on. Also, it is connected through a LAN cord and it is not wireless so I was unable to use my other devices as I did not have a router.
6. The room service was prompt and excellent. I have to say that Eunice was very friendly yet polite and professional. I think the selection was also quite good, unfortunately there was not enough time to try some of the dishes I wanted to.
7. The hotel has a nice bar 'Aksum' (I think) and the service was great there too. Very nice bar food (especially enjoyed the seafood skewers and finger food). It can get quite busy but there is a nice seating area outside too.
8. There is a good selection of international TV channels (including news and sports) and I even managed to watch the finals of the T20 cricket world cup as I enjoy cricket.
I found the rate quite high especially since it was a corporate rate but I understand that this is standard fare for top quality hotels in Nairobi.
I would definitely consider returning if it was available for the right price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eletnahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is our fourth visit to the Serena and it's like a home from home. The staff welcome you as though you haven't been away.
The food was wonderful, especially the Friday night sea food special. We started our safari trip there and ended it before our night flight to Heathrow. They made our room a day room so we could spend some time getting our cases sorted out.
This hotel is used frequently by our much used safari tour company, WILDLIFE SAFARIS, NAIROBI. and if it is good enough for this company, it is good enough for everyone. We highly recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: If you're booked on the 4th floor, arrange to get one away from the air con generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were fortunate to have a three-day conference at the Serena Hotel in Nairobi with more than 85 attendees. The banquet and conference staff were excellent. They responded quickly and efficiently to every need. The audio technician and security staff were always there with us. The breakfast buffet and luncheons exceeded all of our expectations. The grounds are lovely. I would highly recommend it as a venue for business meetings, conferences or vacation in Nairobi. The Nairobi National Park is a short distance away. In a four hour excursion, we say black and white rhino, cape buffalo, wildebeest, velvet monkies, giraffes, zebra, and a lion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP12345Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $233 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing