We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Offer
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here before & after our safari. We had a large, comfortable, quiet room. We really enjoyed the African art displayed throughout the hotel. The pool was a great place to relax at the end of our safari. We had an excellent variety of food at the buffet for breakfast & dinner.
The gift shop had a nice assortment of quality local products.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    283
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a wonderful day enjoying the beauty and food at this great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Another great hotel in the Serena Chain. Centrally located. Beautiful pool environment. The lobby has fantastic displays of art. The staff very professional. The brunch on Sundays fantastic food. Ample parking. Great place to hold business meetings.

Room Tip: Ak for room facing Uhuru Park for nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njenga n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We use Nairobi Serena for a rest after a long flight out from Heathrow. It is perfect for our purposes with all the facilities you would want and a very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillJago073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 after flying in from the UK andbefore we went on safari. We stayed three nights in total - 2 before the safari and one after. The hotel is a good 5 star hotel - the food is very good although expensive - likewise drinks were very expensive. The staff are professional and attentive. The standard of the rroms were very good - the hotel were aware that we were celebrating an annivesary and left us flowers and cava in the room - a nice touch!
The swimming pool was a nice place to relax - however the pool was looking a little tired. (I believe that they have since refurbished the area).
Our last night after safari - we were given a suite of rooms - whichwere fantastic - but we did no have the time to enjoy them, having t leave early the next day. There was wifi in most areas of the hotel and the security around the grounds was excellent - even a security guard on each floor. Would I stay again - yes. We stayed at this hotel with kuoni - and the transfers to and from the airprt were excellent.
Enjoyed the wildlife around the grounds - good for photography!

Room Tip: Arrange to pay your bill the night before you leave - its less hassle and we noticed several queues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

fresh food buh rather ageing furniture throughout the hotel,polite staff but for a hotel of its class it couln not offer tree wi-fi and even when i paid 4 it it was still very slow and unresponsive.

Room Tip: top floors offer a very good view of nairobi city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etienne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This morning, february the 5th. 2012 we left the Nairobi Serena Hotel early, to catch our flight back to Europe.
We are frequent visitors of the Serena Hotels, the Nairobi Serena Hotel is our favourite in town. However the check-in and out policy leads to confusion for undefined reasons on every stay.
Because I am familiar with this I try to work the system in such a way, it can’t go wrong, allthough…
This is what I do;
1. Via telephone reservations I make my booking.
2. Then I confirm the rate, dates and reservation number via email correspondence.
3. On arrival I produce my email correspondence at the reception, pay cash for the room, ask a receipt.

When I leave the hotel, the only thing left to pay are the extra’s; drinks and restaurant bills wich I signed for.

Now……. Life at the cashier is not as simple. Many many peolple have been complaining about this, for your reference check : www.tripadvisor.com . On this website your cashiers are not yet put on the most wanted list but they are working hard to get there. The lengthy procedure, the lost and confused faces of the employees gaping at their computer screens as if the good Lord has set water on fire seem to have lost contact with earth.
Here we go……. “”OK bwana I have allready paid for my stay, look at my receipt!”” Why do you want me to pay for the room again? The only thing I need to pay are my extra’s. How difficult can it be???
Please skip these amounts.. Or the discussion between the breakfast inclusive rate or the exclusive one. Obviously a guest is not going to pay for a b reakfast inclusive rate when the plain leaves at 7.30 in the morning from JKIA and one has to report at the airport check in counter at 6 AM, breakfast is not even served at that time! How difficult is a cashiers life to understand this?

These are is just some examples of cash hassslement at Nairobi Serena. Me and many other frequent visitors are aware of taking at least 30 minutes to settle accounts. You should really do something about this! It can’t be that difficult!

Best regards,

Doeke Hekstra

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing