We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Was only at the hotel for 12 hours (after flying in late and heading for safari in the early morning). Very nice modern rooms. Free internet and the TV channels were international with alot of variety. The breakfast buffet was delicious

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBAtraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    284
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
197
46
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent two nights in the Serena Nairobi at the start of a two week safari. After 36 hours of travel, we were delighted to find our bed turned down with slippers and robes ready. The bed and bedding were first rate. We were also pleased with the excellent selections of foods for each of the four meals we ate in the hotel. Security was excellent and the employees were all very pleasant and accommodating. We can recommend this hotel without reserve.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Arrived to an amazingly delicious sea food buffet (Fridays) - can definitely recommend this for residents of Nairobi.

Room was comfortable with welcoming service. All round great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marceljakubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had an overnight stay on our honeymoon before flying out to Zanzibar and it was everything we needed after being on safari, the room we were given was one of the best hotel suites I have stayed in anywhere in the world and I would let everyone know that if they were planning a trip to Kenya that involved a stay in Nairobi - even if it was just for one night - then make sure its at the Serena.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juve-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Loved this hotel. Spacious rooms, nice breakfast, lunch and dinner. Buffets or lighter meals possible. We stayed 1 night during 2 safaries and it was perfect. OK, the surrounding not as nice as the hotels during the safari trips, but perfect for a rest in between. Very nice swimmingpool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
322 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Nairobi Serena Hotel is without doubt in my mind one of the finest hotels in the city, enjoying a great location at the edge of the central park and the CBD and yet is an oasis of tranquility as I once again experienced last week when back in Nairobi for a few days.
Whenever I can I get the Garden Suites, with an own private access to an enclosed mini garden from where the main gardens can be accessed via a secure grill gate.
These rooms are perfectly appointed, especially suitable for business visitors like me who often have to work in the room and may entertain some guests on their own private verandah and garden.
Functionality is superb, with enough extra sockets to plug in all sorts of travelling appliances and the coffee maker is ever ready and faster than room service, which was remarkable quick when required for an in room snack.
One of the hallmarks of the Serena are of course the restaurants, where at the Mandhari Grill mouthwatering creations, often from visiting chefs, are celebrated - I say celebrated as they are not just served. The main restaurant Cafe Maghreb serves a superb breakfast and daily buffets, a la carte and table d' hote meals for lunch and dinner, but is also open for tea.
Outstanding value for money and a match for many more fancied restaurants in the city.
Of great value is also the residents lounge where one can have small meetings, leaf through the latest international news papers and magazines or just have a cappuchino or latte or a simple freshly brewed cup of Kenya tea.
As a regular since the 1970's when the hotel was initially opened, it is a true homecoming for me where the staff have become friends and almost family members. Really really recommended!

Room Tip: My tip, ask for the Garden Suites, best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Ideal hotel for a short trip to Nairobi...we stayed 2 nights. Very close to Masai market/downtown and easy to get to. Fine dining restaurant was no great shakes though. Lovely pool and balcony.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzarinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing