We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Rooms- This is a Hilton?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing Rooms- This is a Hilton?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

The good points: the common areas are attractive, especially the dining and pool areas. The food was quite good, particularly the room service, although the prices (especially the buffet) are more in line with North American or European rates. The business centre had plenty of computers with fairly reasonable high speed service (although again, costly - approx $10 /half hour).
The bad points: My room was incredibly small and had paper-thin walls (I spent the evening listening to the TV programme in the room next door). The decor and bedding was well worn. I booked the room through a travel agent and could have gotten a better deal online, but for the price I paid I should have been in an executive suite (although I'd still bet the price wouldn't be worth it).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KVanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    387
    307
    160
    77
See reviews for
86
163
135
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
taranto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

I stayed at hilton nairobi two times, as it was the only opportunity i had in nairobi (others were fully booked). First of all the hotel doesn't deserve neither 5stars nor the hilton brand because it is in a desperate need of refurbishment and it is impossible to not recognize that nothing was done in this direction for many many years. the staff is totally and absolutely unelpful, they have no experience and are totally uninterested in solve the problems of the guests. the first time i arrived quite late, about 11 p.m. and i booked a deluxe plus room. i had to wait more than two hours to get my room and we did three attempts (entering in rooms were already were sleeping peoples) to find a room for me. moreover they gave me the smaller de luxe room (after trying to give me a disgusting room by the pool). the second time i had the room i booked in few minutes, but after some hours i received a comunication by the reception who told me that my credit card was blocked. they didn't want to call again the bank (as they don't have the on line POS for amex) or try again and didn't let me use internet to check my on line account. so i had to go outside, make an international phone call to amex and find an internet point to check my account. EVERYTHING WAS ok!!! so i came back to the hotel, i told this, they tried again and the card worked...
moreover both the times the bed was dirty and i had to ask many times to obtain new linens. i repeat: everything i asked (not strange things) i didn't receive any help by the staff, who also tried to charge me two dinners and a breakfast i didn't had. the health club and the gym are good.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kerangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

We have been quite please during our recent stay in Nairobi...Would like to recommend to other business travelers as well..

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorwayGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

I stayed at the Hilton Nairobi en route to a safari and both nights were great. They have security guards outside on the premise and taxi service. The gym offers a sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool and an outdoor pool, and gym classes in the morning. There's also internet available to use at a fee. Overall this is a great, safe, clean hotel with many restaurants inside. I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — safety, cleanliness, facilities
  • Disliked — front desk check in process is slow, location of hotel is deserted at night
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank IzzyChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed in this hotel one night enroute to go on a Seregenti safari. The Hilton Nairobi is an experience that will be hard to forget - it is the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in.

It is true the lobby and restaurants look nice and updated, but do not let that fool you. We arrived late in the night and quickly went to sleep. During the night I used one of the extra blankets for warmth. In the morning light I awoke to see the blanket had stains that was unmistakably blood stains. I was so repulsed. Immediately I took the blanket downstairs to show the manager and all she did was give me $50 off my rate. Mind you, this hotel is not cheap. The manager also offered me a coupon for the restaurant. I felt so repulsed that the thought of eating there made me nauseous. If their rooms are not clean, the rest of the hotel may not be either.

Aside from this experience, the rooms are old and unimpressive for the price.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank erin_japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at this hotel just before our flight back to home for one night. Everything was perfect !!! The room (at the 10th floor) was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. The food was very very good with an excellent buffet and so many choices... The service was incredible, the pool amazing and the security excellent !

Hilton Nairobi is certainly one I would stay at again if I go back in Nairobi ! It's definitely a 5 stars hotel !!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank QuebecTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#35 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#20 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing