We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the city centre”
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Nice service, clean rooms, clean function rooms, good information from staff, easy access to places of interest, good info about safari

Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
Thank asmparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2010

This Hilton is past its prime. The hotel itself is tired and needs major renovations. I had a room on the third floor, facing the pool. The room was fine, except on weekend nights, when | stayed up until 3 AM due to the music from some disco nearby. The food at the restaurants was bland but very expensive. As a female solo traveller, I did not feel safe venturing out by myself at night, and had no choice but to eat dinner at the restaurant several nights. The hotel itself is located at the city center, and perhaps in any other town, that would be a positive thing. However, the city at night in Nairobi is empty and dangerous (my Kenyan colleagues recommended that I do not leave the hotel by myself). The only food available nearby was fast food places. They charged exurbant rates to use the internet and there was no wireless from the bedrooms. I can't believe at this day and age, any one can in charge $14 USD an hour for internet.

The staff was friendly, and this is the only postive thing I can say about this Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustdc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

The main problem with the hotel is its location. It is located in the middle of the city square and it is a meeting place of sorts for everyone. You will see all sorts of people waiting for their friends, others looking for employment etc. etc. Our vehicle was inspected everytime for bombs etc. but I am not sure what sort of security the Hilton is guaranteeing for its guests, when it is surrounded by people at all times of the day. Inside the hotel, there is an old world charm. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well - adequate. The room service is good although I did not enjoy the grilled king fish cooked Kenyan style. No newspapers every morning - something I was used to at other 5-star hotels. The internet connection in the room is good.And please don't even think of going to the salon - it is not part of the hotel- even though it is listed in the hotel booklet as one of the services offered.The staff at the salon are friendly, but this is not the salon expected of a 5-star hotel.. it is not even the salon which should be part of a 1-star hotel. It was a shocker for both me and one of my male friends, who went to the male salon.The hotel will send you a staff to accompany you to the salon, because it is located outside and at the back of the hotel. The gym is adequate. All our friends recommended the Serena and that is where we are going to stay, next time we are in Nairobi.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ReenaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

After reading other reviews on this site I looked forward with a certain perverse anticipation to staying at "the worst Hilton in the world". Well, I haven't stayed at enough Hiltons to rank this place among its brethren, but I must say i found it entirely adequate. Yes, it looks like it hasn't been updated in the past 30 years, but it was clean and perfectly comfortable. The restaurant was OK, if over-priced, and the wi-fi in the lobby was even free when I was there (though I gather this is not usually the case.) This place is also substantially cheaper than the other "business class" hotels in central Nairobi. So don't let the negative reviews scare you off - this is a perfectly decent place to stay at a price that, by Nairobi standards, isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayaguy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel has a pool on the roof which looked rather nice and there is a couple of bars downstairs. It is in a central location (THE CBD financial district) making it useful for business travellers. There is good airport style security to get in and out of the hotel which makes you feel a bit safer due to recent terror threats. The Hilton Nairobi hotel offers a shuttle service to and from the airport but unlike other countries the shuttle bus is not complementary so if there are a couple of you a taxi could be cheaper and easier.

In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market. A word of warning even the best bartering in the market won't get you a bargain. Shops are cheaper than these touristy markets. The rooms were ok a little basic compared to other Hilton's but ok for a couple of nights and after all its in a developing country so of course it won't match the standard of say Dubai's Hilton. The service was Ok but breakfast expensive

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

dark, poor food, terrible rooms not updated since the 1970s and expensive. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJonnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The rooms on floor 3 and floor 6 are manky, smelly decrepit and just generally yuck. Got one once on 12 that wasn't as awful.
Breakfasts are just a bit below standard but evening buffets are truly horrible.
Internet is a bit slow and an extortionate €20 per day.
the Jockey bar is basically a pick up point for the local prostitutes.
The staff try hard and are very friendly and helpful within the constraints that they have to work with.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,018 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $109 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing