We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-do, if you can afford it”
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #31 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I stayed at this hotel because I had enough Hilton points for a free stay. The service was first-rate, even better than most of the Hiltons I have stayed at in the US. The rooms were cleaned twice daily, and I had some complimentary resh fruit, tea and crackers available every day. My room was spacious, with 2 TVs and two bathrooms, with beautiful African-style mahogany furniture. The front desk staff were always courteous, and even though I called them many times for different reasons. They have a decent-sized gym, with a knowledgeable fitness trainer always available. Security was first-rate, and it is located in the middle of town with easy access to shopping and cheap but good food. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. i would definitely stay there again, even if I had to pay full price for it.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank garifoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed here with a U.S. Navy P-3 flight-crew after many weeks on the road. The hotel was wonderful, beds were outstanding. Check-in was a bit slow, but it gave us ample time to check-out the beautiful Luftstanza flight attendants that were checking in next to us!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ackro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights after 4wks on an overland truck camping so it probably did feel alot nicer than it actually was! lol. It was clean and the room were a good size and it was amazing to have a toilet that flushed! Service was good and we left a bag with them for 4wks as we stayed before and after the overland trip. It was in a very central location and there was a great pizza place just over the road. The pool was lovely and the pool bar was a nice place to sit and have a drink! on the whole a good stay, im going back there in dec 09 so hopefully it hasnt changed!

Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank helenmackay135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

often it is hard to get a reservation at the fairview or country lodge hotels, and impossible to get through on the phone to sarova stanley (their online reservation will not work without credit card details). so hilton remains a good but pricy option, with VAT added on top of the room rate advertised. it doesnt feel like a five star hotel, but the staff is very nice and attentive. the hotel is very central and the meeting facilities are good. rooms are rather small, and the bathroom ceiling feels quite low. internet (cable in the room) is fast but expensive. it is possible to arrange for airport transfer charged to your room ($20 or 1400KSH). health club has sauna and steam room, but the gym is small and most equipment is old. the travellers restaurant is expensive and not that exciting, though the buffet is substantive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marselkuzyakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on the 15th-17th of July and I have to say I was very impressed with my stay. I had been reading all the comments of the 'worried-well' who had stayed there so I was preparing to be disappointed but that was not the case. I found the staff to be very helpful, i had a seamless check in and check out. The room, by no means opulent, was nicely appointed and had all that was required, very clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. I would recommend this hotel for anybody on a business trip,,,

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in July as part of a conference. The hotel is centrally located, clean with simply furnished bedrooms (I stayed in 406 a standard room).

The pool area is good with a deck and good sized pool. There is a coffee bar, pub, and restaurant serving an a la carte and buffet menu. The buffet is fine and changed regularly.

The staff are helpful and I can’t criticise the hotel, except it is standard and just lacks a little sparkle of something.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

There is nothing wrong about the hotel, but it is simply overpriced. During my stay I learnt that locals already avoid booking the Hilton as it is absolutely no value for money. It is also not well located as it is right in the center of Nairobi. The area it is in is not rated safe at night (typcial comment by locals). Also there are no good restaurants close by and locals prefer nit go to the center during night.
If you are on a business trip and you do not have any appointments in the city center take something outside town.
The rooms are fully equipped, but you can see that everything is a bit outworn. Apart from that you can not complain.
The restaurant "The Travellers" offers daily changing buffet, but it is not worth a try. The breakfast offers wide range of all and is of Hilton quality. The bar is dark cave and really outdated.
The service of the Hotel is of good international standard and you have a taxi service in-house"Kentaco" that is an absolutely necessity to get around in Nairobi.
In your room you have internet access for 1.000 KSH (one hour) or 2.000 KSH (per day), that is good to African standards.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 168 in Nairobi
1,043 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 168 in Nairobi
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing