We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Nairobi is a beautiful place and the hotel is located in the city centre. Very close to the hotels there are shops etc and few eating joints.
On Saturday, just few yards from the hotel, the locals put up a handicrafts market which sells beautiful masks and paintings.
The food is good at the hotel and the swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SunitaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    348
    284
    150
    73
See reviews for
81
145
125
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Fairview and the Country Lodge were booked solid, so I needed to find a hotel in Nairobi for a 3 night business trip. So the Hilton it would have to be, since the other "acceptable" standard hotels were either too expensive for my company's hotel budget restrictions, or also booked out. The Hilton was supposed to be $185 per night (without breakfast) but when you added taxes it ballooned to $237 per night. Then you add the $25 per 24 hours internet connection, and you begin to wonder how the hell the Fairview can offer you a great room for $100 per night, including breakfast, all the Internet you can eat, AND all taxes! I just don't get it! No wonder its booked out so often.

......But this review is supposed to be about the Hilton.

The rooms are ok, comfortable enough, but nothing special. The whole place could do with a renovation, especially the hallways.

The location is great - its very central, and central Nairobi is very easy and safe to navigate on foot. Here is a definite advantage over the Fairview.

Didn't eat the breakfast since it wasn't included so I went each morning to one of the cafes up the street. I had lunch in the restaurant - Club Sandwich once, Burger another time. Also ordered Pizza from room service. The food is pretty decent - actually better than the Fairview.

Over all, Its not a bad hotel. Its just not very good value when you compare it to - you guessed it! - The Fairview.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

A reasonable hotel - good service and helpful staff.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it was a little past its best. Probably would have been nicer 10 years ago! But apart from that a reasonable hotel.

Breakfast is very expensive, so don't just have toast and coffee - get your money's worth!

No Wi Fi in the rooms, but does have internet access. Food is typically Hiltonesque - and about the same prices as back home.

Didn't have a bad experience, but if you can afford a nicer place I would stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moody79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have been reading some of the reviews where people are saying about how much fun they had at the Hilton and all I can do is wonder what kind of hotels they have stayed in before.

The Hilton is nowhere close to a 2 star hotel, and as someone else said before....most of the stars are on the bathroom tiles.
The rooms are so damp and ugly, the bathrooms are dirty and discolored.
Same with the towels in the rooms.

They don't have permanent changing rooms in the Gym. They have very ugly gym rooms which are alternated by the gents and ladies (if the men use the small one in the morning, they use the large one in the evening vice versa.)

I mean, why cant they build a descent changing room? The towels smell of pee (they don't use fabric freshener and softener) and they have cheap shower and bathing gel.

the internet is way overpriced.... it would be better walking right outside the hotel into a cybercafe and pay 30times less than the hotel charges.

I would say one thing......Just avoid the disappointment and go to the Sarova Stanley or Serena.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinda-Marthar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I was travelling to Nairobi quite a large conference there. The hotel was conviniently located and the rooms were allright.
Being a hotelier myself I was plesantly surprised with the smooth check in. However, after the first day, things did not go quite well.
Though no fault of the hotel, the company had not yet paid the hotel for the accommodation, I recieved a letter from the Duty Manager asking for the money, after which I decided that I's rather check out of the hotel and stay elsewhere. Upon checkout, I was greeted by a very pleasant receptionist (sadly i do not remember her name) who informed me of the same instructions that she had been given. I asked for the Manager on shift, who did come and quite flatly and bluntly said he cannot do anything to help me, which I was quite surprised as I would expect a Duty Manager, especially in a Hilton to assist the guest, I mean, being a hotelier and in Front Office itself, thats what we believe in.
Carrying on, when I gave the receptionist my business card, she went out of her way and ensured that I get in touch with the respective authority whose number I had.
I did ask for the same manager 4 times, however, he refused to meet and sent messages saying that there is nothing he can do to help (surprising..!!!)
After waiting for about 2 hours, the recpeptionist did offer to take it on her responsibility and in the event of non payment, she would get in touch with me, which I thought was a very very good gesture and I simply forgot about the time I had spent there waiting for the Manager. Fortunately, the company rep's came within the next 5 minutes and paid up.
Had it not been for the Receptionist, I dont think that I would have even bothered to write this review...
Sadly I do not remember her name, but none the less, your gesture was appreciated. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul007bondjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

With a name like Hilton Group, sadly Nairobi Hilton is debranded for the past two years statndars are falling below their star rating. The General manager is simply rude and inconsiderate with a racisit atttitude. The main breakfats and even lunch in the main resturant has ppor presentation and horrible in taste. There is no dress code for diners/gusts/ The front reception is very dull and lack experience. Certainly not value ofr money. There are several bettwer 4-5 star hotels near to enjoy and stay while in Nairobi.
I would not recommond this hotel for any one going for the first time - regret.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Market063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Bathroom was old and a little cramped. looked dirty with brown/yellow stains around the sink area. Tiles on wall around bathtub was very clean with no sign of mould. Toilet seat wouldnt stay up. Room was ok and clean.
Had breakfast in the travellers restaurant and the chair i sat on must have still had wet paint on the armrest and i got black paint on my white sleeves. Waiter saw me noticing my sleeves and just stood there and did nothing and even watched me get myself another chair. Eventually he managed to say "sorry" and then walked away with his pitcher of orange juice... so cant say the service was that great.
We stayed there 2 nights but a week apart. Checking out the first time they charged me around an extra 80 shillings even though room was prepaid 3 months in advance. they said it was because the exchange rate i was charged 3 months ago was different to the exhange rate at check out time and i was paying for the difference. I let it go since it was only 80 shillings. However, for the second night stay a week later, the exchange rate did not go in their favour by over 100 shillings, instead of refunding it they put that as miscellaneous charges. So either way the exchange rate always works in their favour. They didnt hilight this of course. they put the bill in the envelope without showing it to me at the desk. I saw it on the way to the car but couldnt be bothered going back since we had to get to the airport. None of the other lodges we stayed at for the 2 weeks in Kenya tried to charge extra due to exchange rate differences and certainly didnt expect hilton to be so petty.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saihai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing