We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for staying in bussiness trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #30 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
“Good for staying in bussiness trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was a good experience in a well located hotel with good facilities. Staff was very kind always and committed to satisfy my requests. For the price, they should provide free internet access in guest rooms and not only in the lobby. Variety of food at restaurant facilities was good. Security was very tight for obvious reasons and other services such as concierge, taxis, etc., were provided efficiently.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jose Armando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you mentioning our great customer service, facilities, security and efficiency.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    338
    275
    146
    73
See reviews for
76
142
122
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is not in a good part of the city, however it is in walking distance to government departments if you are doing business with them. The hotel can do with a refurbishment, especially the bathrooms and the bar fridge did not work properly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have read your comment with regards of the need to refurbish our facility and I regret that the physical outlook did not meet your expectation. I am therefore pleased to advise that we are in the planning process of a master plan renovation that, over time, will take care of the overall hotel facilities and appearance.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was probably a place to stay one upon a time - no longer I am afraid. As above plus, the public areas are not the worst I have seen but the rooms are awful. Tired soft furnishings, grey towels, shabby paintwork - looks original 60's! I would def not stay here again - what a let down for Hilton hotels!!! Not at all up to standard!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. Unfortunately, the physical state of our facility did not meet your expectation, my sincere apologies for this. However, I wish to inform you, that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

We do appreciate your critical and constructive feedback and this will assist us in improving our standards and service delivery.

I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi or at any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide and re-establish your faith in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Its an old property but decently maintained. It happens to be in city center and surronded by a buzzing office and commercial area. The hotel has nice lounge and restaurants which gives you good food options. Don't forget to try Indian food if you're longing for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabhaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi. We are very glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience, and as well you liked the location.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had meeting there for two days and were accommodated there. I was really excited that I would stay at the Hilton and its right in the middle of town. The entrance looked old but in a grand way, the welcome superb. The group room rates were very affordable. It is definitely far from the 5 star experience, obviously it has lost its grandeur with time.WIFI was good, the staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was my main highlight there.
I didn't like the rooms too much as the furnishing seemed old and needed an update, the rooms smelled damp and moldy and had to change my room three times!!! When I finally settled in, I noticed the drain in the bathroom was not great- it didn't not drain quickly when showering. If it wasn't for work I would have checked out to moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before settling in. Make sure the drains work well in the bathroom and the plumbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PreciousM474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our team members hospitality and breakfast. Unfortunately, the physical state of our facility did not meet your expectation; please accept our sincere apology for this, and be informed that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

As of the room smell, I am sorry for the discomfort experienced. I have discussed this with the executive housekeeper to address with her team and to ensure corrective measures are put in place.

We do appreciate your feedback, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi or at any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I thought I booked a 5 star hotel! I would only rate this hotel as 3+ hotel only. the pillows were eccessivly soft and could not have a good sleep. the AC regulator was broken. stand bulb was fused and no one bothered to change it. the Toilet was not clean and looked a century old. why NO Free WI FI? at least in the Lobby!! I hope you will improve your hotel. M.S.FAKHRI Managing Director Fakhri Travel & Tourism Centre Kingdom of Bahrain

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mohamed Saleh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. At Hilton we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Unfortunately, we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us; my sincerest apologies for this. As of the physical state of the hotel, we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance. Meanwhile our engineers have inspected the room and replaced AC regulator and the bulb.

I have shared your concern regarding bathroom cleanliness with our executive housekeeper. Kindly be ensured that corrective measures have been put in place to avoid a re-occurence.

I would also wish to explain that we do offer free internet in all public areas of the Hotel only and regret to see that this was not explained to you properly during your recent stay with us.

Our esteemed guest, we do appreciate your critical but constructive feedback and I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi or at any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Comfortable and well-positioned, at lower price than other luxury hotels. It's not as fancy as other 5-star hotels, either, because it has not been entirely updated. But I assume that keeps the room rate low in comparison. Note that even though this is right downtown, all rooms are quiet because of good soundproof windows. I doubt there are any noisy rooms. Cons: high charge for in-room wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi. We are happy that you enjoyed the comfort of our facility and location. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing