We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, mediocre rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, mediocre rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

The up-side: The Hilton is situtated in the heart of Nairobi. The lobby is lovely and the hotel has good facilities (swimming pool, gym). The food was good and the sheets were clean

The down-side: The rooms are just not up to 5 or even 4 star standard. Buttons on the telephone don't work. The smell is somewhat musty. The bathroom was the most disappointing - the floor tiles were stained and dirty. Towels were old and hardened. Lighting was dim making it look dingy.

Overall, it was not a bad stay but certainly not a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxyhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    381
    305
    159
    76
See reviews for
86
162
133
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Hilton did NOT impress me in any way. I regret having been lured by that famous name (again). The rooms of this hotel are very small, let’s just say tiny. They are old, far from new for sure. They have no character and make you feel like being in an East-Berlin Plattenbau building. The furniture is old, not authentic, yes outright ugly. The beds are old as well and there was no cover over the boxspring, giving me at least a very unhygienic idea of the thing I was sleeping on. The carpet is old as well, sometimes even stained with paint from a paintjob that was carried out a decade ago. The bathroom is not much better, indeed even worse than the rest of the shack. It looks like a bathroom from an old apartment building, certainly not that of a 5-star place. And yes, not clean in some places too. In short, this place is extremely mediocre and has nothing to do with what you would expect.

Then the service. Well, let’s start with the lousy and amazingly expensive internet connection (2400 KSH or 30 USD). I thought I had a problem with my laptop, it just took forever to open up even a normal webpage (> 2minutes for gmail). But when I spoke to a tech-guy from the hotel I was told the minimum connection was 128kbs and maximum 750kbs. Believe me, it was even far from the lower speed! When I told the reception that I wasn’t happy with it, they didn’t even take the efforts to call me back as promised. And the next day, after telling them I wouldn’t pay for it, it took them 15 minutes to even “drop” the price to 1200 KSH. For the rest the service was anything from impressive too. To check-in it took over 10 minutes, check out, well that is clear now as well. The mini-bar content was poor, the amenities were limited and the entire atmosphere was just not up to par with what the name Hilton should stand for…

All in all, I would not suggest this place to anyone who wants to stay in a nice place. I would absolutely discourage anyone to pay premium prices. Just go here if you can find a good offer and there is nothing else in town (see my other reviews on the Fairfield and Stanley, which are great places!).

  • Liked — Nothing accept location
  • Disliked — stupid ugly little 2* rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_Dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Northfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

Friendly staff in this tall concrete tower of a hotel. Service is moderate at best, which is a surprise as every department seems to be over-staffed. Buffet breakfast and dinner at the Travellers restaurant have plenty to offer in terms of variety, sadly the quality of food is nothing to write home about.
The exec level room was clean and everything was in working order as expected. I missed important telephone calls due to the operator’s inability to match my name to the correct room. At check out I was presented with an incorrect bill containing charges for dinner and mini-bar items that I did not consume (corrected at the time).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pharaoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

This is a centrally located hotel with pleasant ambience, good restaurants, and pleasant poolside area considering it is in the middle of Nairobi. I have stayed here before and the hotel has improved since last time

  • Liked — Convenience, location and security
  • Disliked — Atmosphere in the bar was unpleasant this time
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

The good points: the common areas are attractive, especially the dining and pool areas. The food was quite good, particularly the room service, although the prices (especially the buffet) are more in line with North American or European rates. The business centre had plenty of computers with fairly reasonable high speed service (although again, costly - approx $10 /half hour).
The bad points: My room was incredibly small and had paper-thin walls (I spent the evening listening to the TV programme in the room next door). The decor and bedding was well worn. I booked the room through a travel agent and could have gotten a better deal online, but for the price I paid I should have been in an executive suite (although I'd still bet the price wouldn't be worth it).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KVanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taranto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

I stayed at hilton nairobi two times, as it was the only opportunity i had in nairobi (others were fully booked). First of all the hotel doesn't deserve neither 5stars nor the hilton brand because it is in a desperate need of refurbishment and it is impossible to not recognize that nothing was done in this direction for many many years. the staff is totally and absolutely unelpful, they have no experience and are totally uninterested in solve the problems of the guests. the first time i arrived quite late, about 11 p.m. and i booked a deluxe plus room. i had to wait more than two hours to get my room and we did three attempts (entering in rooms were already were sleeping peoples) to find a room for me. moreover they gave me the smaller de luxe room (after trying to give me a disgusting room by the pool). the second time i had the room i booked in few minutes, but after some hours i received a comunication by the reception who told me that my credit card was blocked. they didn't want to call again the bank (as they don't have the on line POS for amex) or try again and didn't let me use internet to check my on line account. so i had to go outside, make an international phone call to amex and find an internet point to check my account. EVERYTHING WAS ok!!! so i came back to the hotel, i told this, they tried again and the card worked...
moreover both the times the bed was dirty and i had to ask many times to obtain new linens. i repeat: everything i asked (not strange things) i didn't receive any help by the staff, who also tried to charge me two dinners and a breakfast i didn't had. the health club and the gym are good.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kerangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

We have been quite please during our recent stay in Nairobi...Would like to recommend to other business travelers as well..

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorwayGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#23 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#37 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing