We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Centrally located, the Hilton is in a perfect place for movement around Nairobi. It's within walking distance to most of the major sites in Nairobi (or at least from the POV of a tourist).

The facilities are good, there's a swimming pool which I didn't use but the fitness centre is really quite well equipped. Good to unwind after a safari, or rejuvenate before a safari.

The rooms however, are really quite old and in need of a renovation. The A/C seems a bit dated and doesn't cool the room very well.

Room Tip: Loved the pool deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakehyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment that our rooms are quite old and need renovation and the AC also seemed as it wasn’t not cooling effectively. I am indeed very sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. Meanwhile, immediate air conditioning repairs have been undertaken by our Chief Engineer and I can now confirm that it is effectively working. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We are glad to note the compliment you have made about our facility, swimming pool and fitness centre, which is a confirmation that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    395
    313
    160
    77
See reviews for
88
167
143
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I think this is the 5th time I have stayed here and sadly things have gotten worse.
At check in the Hilton Honors desk was unmanned, meaning a queue to register. Unfortunately despite it being 4pm, the room was not ready, although reception did arrange free coffee whilst I waited the 30 minutes.
The room was little more than adequate and certainly showed its age. The bathroom fittings and tiles were especially poor. Also the rooms could do with more noise insulation - you can hear the neighbouring room quite clearly. However the beds are comfortable and the linen is clean and relatively new. Internet access is cabled but is not cheap - about 12 Euro a day.
The restaurant buffet was of very poor standard, with unappetising food and poor presentation. Breakfast was better but still not up to Hilton standards. Warm fruit juice, unattended egg counter, pork products mixed with others (doesn't worry me but one would expect the staff to be more culturally aware).
Traditionally the bar has been good but for some reason the staff seem lazy. It took forever to get a drink and even longer to sign the bill with staff disappearing half way through serving. As a result I tried the pool bar only to find it had closed early.
I am not sure what has transpired as the hotel had been getting better over the last couple of years, but if it were not for Hilton Points, I would not be staying again. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator area - they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment that our HHonor’s desk was unmanned and your room was not ready upon arrival therefore you had to wait for 30 minutes, I sincerely apologize for this should not be the case. I have shared this information with our Front Desk manager to put corrective measures in place and ensure this does not happen again.

We also note your comment with regards of our room status, I am very sorry indeed that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; I am however pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

Regarding internet charges, I would like to advise, that apart from it not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by Docomo, a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. We do however have a so called Business Plus Package, where apart from an upgrade to a next level room type, unlimited internet access is included in the room rate with a small surcharge. Likewise, for our esteemed Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.

Likewise, we have noted your comment about our buffet, breakfast, presentation of our food items and the conduct of our bar staff. You have my profound apologies for this terrible experience. I have shared this information with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage manager to retrain all our service team members on our Brand Service Standard. However, we appreciate your critical but constructive feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Though we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I wrote to the hotel in advance to get a cab to pick us up from the airport after our over seas flights from the US. The Hilton rep was there waiting for us after customers and arranged a cab for us at a very reasonable price. The hotel is in a great location in central Nairobi. As part of staying on the executive floors, the business center and honors lounge are included. That means free internet, breakfast and happy hour. The rooms are old but very adequate. We were greeted with some crackers and a fruit basket. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip. The staff is excellent, very accomodating and customer service orientated. As our flight left at 11pm they extended our checkout time many hours which was very convenient. It is safe to walk around their during the day but need to take cabs at night. The hotel recommended two excellent restaurants and made reservations for us: Trattoria- owned and operated by an Italian and TAMARIND, a superb seafood place. (Trattoria doesn't take credit cards.) We didn't eat at the hotel but used the health club facilities. The workout room could use more fans/circulation but otherwise was fine. Check with the bell captain as to cab charges in advance. The bellmen knew more than the front desk people in terms of cost of cabs and location of places. It's a good idea if you are coming to the hotel from someplace else to ask the hotel the cost of the cab ride as you may need to negotiate.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoUCLAbruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your reception upon arrival, our facilities and especially our team members hospitality throughout your stay, I Id liked to thank you for your fine comments. It was my pleasure to share you kind feedback with our entire team. It is wonderful to see that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Regarding our rooms need for upgrade and our health club needing a better circulation, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port stanley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed night 1 in Comfort Hotel an all out dive for a higher price than the Hilton. Hilton is better located....cappuccino bar, pool, CLEAN beds and hot water shower.
We absolutely loved it and staff was 1st rate.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to excecutive but I dont know why. Not complaining. It was so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to write to us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note your positive comment regarding our bar, pool, cleanliness and facilities and we highly appreciate your gratitude to our team members hospitality, which I have already shared with them. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi Kleine Moeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I checked in to Nairobi Hilton on 27th of July for a COMESA Cotton to Clothing regional strategy meeting. On 28th after attending the meeting at IVORY meeting room on the 1st floor, I forgot my laptop in the meeting room with my mobile phone and many keys in the laptop bag and left the room around 6:00 PM.
I came back around 9:00PM after going out to shopping.
When I came back, the laptop was not there. I checked with security people around and nothing came out. Then one security gentlemen came, his name is CYRUS ONDIEKI. I am amazed by the carrying and so professional services that I witnessed from this individual.
He managed the case very carefully, taking each and every steps very carefully and professionally. After going through 3 hours of intensive investigation both in physical visits of meeting places and my room and investigating the CCTV recorded for around three (3) hours, finally we sow a friend of mine taking care of the laptop taking to his room.
I am so satisfied and amazed by the services provided by the hotel though Mr. ONDIEKI.

Kindly;
Endalkachew Sime

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Endalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We have noted your gratitude to our team member Mr. Cyrus Ondieki who assisted you to recover the laptop that was left behind in our meeting room and it was our upmost pleasure to forward your fine comments with him. We also do appreciate the patience exercised by yourself throughout the investigation procedure. Hilton strives to ensure that our guest are well taken care off in all aspects including their own safety and security of their items.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was nice enough, clean but very old. Hasn't been updated in 20 years probably. Restaurants are ok, but don't expect fast service. Staff was very nice overall. I would probably look to stay somewhere else if I come to Nairobi again, but would stay here if I had to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryBlossom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We have noted your comment with regards to the status of our facility, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
We appreciate your compliment about our room suites and restaurant and hospitality of our team members and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

it was a good place to stay,neat and clean.But the room are not upto the modern standards as of now but you can have a comfortable stay ......amazing food...and transport is available just outside the door step of the hotel.

Room Tip: best room would be on the top floors from where u can see the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharatihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We have noted your good comment that our rooms are neat, clean and a good place to stay though not modern but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

Likewise, we have noted the compliments you have made about our food and the convenient availability of transportation. We are glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#36 of 162 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing