We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some updates”
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #31 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was nice enough, clean but very old. Hasn't been updated in 20 years probably. Restaurants are ok, but don't expect fast service. Staff was very nice overall. I would probably look to stay somewhere else if I come to Nairobi again, but would stay here if I had to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryBlossom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We have noted your comment with regards to the status of our facility, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
We appreciate your compliment about our room suites and restaurant and hospitality of our team members and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi KleineMoeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

it was a good place to stay,neat and clean.But the room are not upto the modern standards as of now but you can have a comfortable stay ......amazing food...and transport is available just outside the door step of the hotel.

Room Tip: best room would be on the top floors from where u can see the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bharatihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We have noted your good comment that our rooms are neat, clean and a good place to stay though not modern but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

Likewise, we have noted the compliments you have made about our food and the convenient availability of transportation. We are glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Sure it needs a complete overhaul but it's clean, the staff were very friendly and the food was fresh and well priced. I left an expensive pen in the bar and I got a call from to say it had been found and it was brought to my room. I don't think that would happen in many places.

Would I stay again..yes I would.

Room Tip: Sign up to Hilton HHonours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3000milekayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

We thank you for taking the time to write to us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment with regards to the status of our facility and need for a complete overhaul, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
We are glad to note that you appreciated our clean rooms, fresh and well priced food and we very much appreciate your gratitude towards our team member hospitality and especially when you lost a very expensive pen while at the bar. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here on two separate times. Consistent service, good check in staff..(Moses very competent and courtly gentleman). On the second tinme around the staff were very personable and held their cool when some Indian Diplomat guests made an axx of themselves. Good training

Breakfast was very good too. Internet a rip off at $20.00 a day. Dont make phone calls from here. Get a cheap phone from SafariCom and a sim card for kshs 50/- or US0.50 cents and 1 cent a minute for calls to the USA or UK.
Rooms a little dated but clean and tidy. Hotel overlooks the City Centre. Good show!!

Room Tip: Dated but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCruiser914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director Of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment with regards of our internet charges, and I would like to advise, that apart from it not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by Docomo, a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. We do however have a so called Business Plus Package, where apart from an upgrade to a next level room type, unlimited internet access is included in the room rate with a small surcharge. Likewise, for our esteemed Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.

Nevertheless, we highly appreciate the fine comments you made about our consistent service, good breakfast and hospitality of our team members and it was my upmost pleasure to share your kind feedback with our teams. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Pretty standard chain hotel, average furnishings and service, decent sized rooms, good location

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We appreciate the fine comment you make about our property and our hospitality, which is a confirmation that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I'm Nairobi every month or two for business and usually stay at the Fairview or the Country Lodge, but both were booked this trip. The Stanley was recommended but far too expensive for just a bed and a bar, so I opted for the Hilton.

What an incredible mistake. Nearly double the price of the Country Lodge but with neither breakfast nor free internet ($16/day and slower than the CLodge's free link and I had to fix the wiring myself). 50% higher than the Fairview but without the atmosphere nor the great restaurants.

Nairobi has one of the best climates in the world, but the windows at the Hilton don't open and the A/C is louder than a V8.

All of this is par for any major Africa city and I'm fine with it. But what motivates me to complain is the $15 gin and tonic at the bar. This is wrong on so many levels. Insult to injury is that it was the cheap gin too! I will never ever return to this scam of a 70s monstrosity again and will never recommend it to a friend or foe. Just because of one rip-off too far.

Fairview and Country Lodge: I'm so sorry for have not booked sooner. Lesson well learned.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therefromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

We like to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Nairobi and for the time taken to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment with regards of our internet charges, I would like to advise, that apart from it not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by Docomo, a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. We do however have a so called Business Plus Package, where apart from an upgrade to a next level room type, unlimited internet access is included in the room rate with a small surcharge. Likewise, for our esteemed Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.

Regarding the price of our Gin and tonic at the bar, I’d like to inform you that we are at par with other 5 star hotels in Nairobi, however the local bars around the hotel will definitely be cheaper. Regarding the gin quality, we have a variety of gins available to choose from. We regret the one you were served was not as per your expectation.

Likewise we have noted that the AC in your room was louder, and I am sorry indeed for this should not be the case. However I have shared this information with our Chief engineer to check all the hotel rooms for the noise levels and service / repair them accordingly.

As for the rates, we appreciate your critical but constructive feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton for both Pre and Post nights stay in June as part of a safari package. We felt the hotel was convenient, clean, and served our needs. We asked upon arrival for a higher floor room than we were initially given, and had no problem getting the same 17th floor room with a view both times! The room was very nice and comfortable. We had an early breakfast one morning in the restaurant before leaving on safari and they weren't too keen on letting us in 5 minutes early, but we convinced them to anyways. We also requested a pre-boxed breakfast as we had a very early start to the airport on our last day given to us. We had ordered chicken sandwiches with fries from the Cafe American 2 different times which was very good and reasonably priced. We were too tired for a sit down meal and brought it up to our room. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poconoprincess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We do appreciate the good compliments you make about our hotel rooms cleanliness and comfort and the food in our restaurants. It is with pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience, believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $115 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing