We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, suites are charming, executive lounge is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
Ranked #28 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
maui, hi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, suites are charming, executive lounge is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

As many have said on Trip Advisor, this Hilton does show its age, however, that is what makes it so charming. We stayed here 11 years ago and enjoyed it, but this time was even better. The service is unbelievable (like all the hotels where we stayed in Kenya), every time you turn around there is someone who wants to help you.
My husband is a Diamond member, so we had access to the executive lounge which has gourmet food and drinks all the time.
We had a suite, which was perfect for our family of 3 (we actually had trouble finding a hotel in Nairobi that would accomodate more than 2 people without having to purchase 2 rooms). The suite was New York City size (small, but bigger than a standard room), but had 2 bathrooms!
The gym had everything you needed, and my husband and son loved the outdoor pool (it was warm enough to swim in, even though it was raining cats and dogs!) They also said the staff at the pool seemed to be expert botanists, teaching them about the plants of Kenya.
Finally, many on Trip Advisor have said that they were worried that Nairobi is dangerous (maybe because of all the security in the hotel?). We walked around the city all day for 2 days with no problem. If you don't leave your hotel, you are missing out. Also, Kenya has a mandatory death sentence for robbery with violence.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate your gratitude to our team members hospitality, which I have already shared with our management and teams. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile

Regarding security around the city, It is just by bad luck that guests or residents get mugged, though in most cases it depends on areas visited.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    338
    275
    146
    73
See reviews for
76
142
122
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Good and safe hotel in the middle of the city. Nice ambiance and atmosphere. Rooms are clean and good with a good service level. We stay here only for one night. But I can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We have noted that you enjoyed your recent stays in all aspects; safety, ambience, atmosphere, good and clean rooms as well as the service level. Believe me, comments such as yours make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We appreciate your trust, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,


Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Hotel offers good hospitality and food.

It's among the best hotel present in Nairobi. The Tower offer you the entire city view. Located at the prime location, it boasts of all the banks, eating joints and money exchange in proximity.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BartTheBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

this is a nice hotel but for the price nice doesn't really cut it. Since I spend most of my time in the room when I'm at the hotel for business that is where I expect price to show. Rooms are outdated and my bathroom area was in bad shape. Rooms are also very small (my colleagues room was much bigger but he was upgraded). However, it has a wonderful breakfast, and the staff was helpful and friendly. They also have a pretty nice business center. As with any hotel check your bill before you leave (each of my colleagues had an extra charge for something on their bill).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egarcia1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
It was a pleasure hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi, and we thank you for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment with regards of our Hotel status, I am very sorry indeed that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; I am however pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

Regarding incorrect billing, I sincerely apologize for this should not be the case. Please be assured that your feedback was immediately was shared with our Front Desk manager to put corrective measures in place to avoid this from happening again to you or to any other hotel guest.

We are very glad to note your gratitude to our team members hospitality, and your comments about our breakfast and business centre. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Had a meeting in the middle of March at the Hilton and I did love the experience. Like so many reviewers have said here, the staff are truly wonderful people, always smiling, always willing to help. There's one called Helen from the kitchen department whose warmth was simply amazing, so amazing I promised her I'd be going back to Nairobi to stay at the Hilton just for her sake! Plus, despite the hotel being located in the CBD, the noise is kept out, somehow. That's not something to say of all the hotels in Nairobi's CBD.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We are indeed proud to have hosted you at the Hilton Nairobi and we thank you very much for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

With pleasure we have noted your comment that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team members; always smiling and always ready to help, which was my upmost delight to share with them.

We always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home and as such, we are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton. Your comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,


Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The entrance makes your expextations rise, then you exit the elavator your hart sinks, but your hart will stop when you see your room. Small, outdated, not clean. Dito for the bathroom. Do not go there!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

Unfortunately we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay, as you have mentioned; my sincerest apologies for this. However, I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

We appreciate you critical but constructive feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

After reading an appalling review before I left I was leary of what to expect. It was a lovely surprise to be welcomed by the night staff. Our room was adequate, the beds great and a lovely big clean bathroom. No street noise. Best of all was the great breakfast buffet. We came back a week later for another night and it was just as nice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronto-beeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
It has been a pleasure hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are proud to note that you had a great experience with our night team members as well as that you enjoyed our room ambience and facilities, the serenity of the hotel and our breakfast buffet. Believe me, comments such as yours make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We place great value on your custom, and your patronage are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#20 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Property: Hilton Nairobi
Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Kenya from the Hilton Nairobi hotel, situated in the city's central business district, one block away from the Kenyatta International Convention Centre and only 25 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel enjoys proximity to several major banking institutions, universities and government offices, including the Parliament and the High Court of Kenya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing