We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My fantastic Experience as a "Volcanic Ash Victim"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nottingham, Maryland
1 review
“My fantastic Experience as a "Volcanic Ash Victim"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

When I travelled to Kenya for a one day business trip I never thought I'd be stranded there for almost 7 days!! In any other situation this would be a nightmare! But the staff of InterContinental Nairobi really turned it around...I have yet to see a hotel who reacted so well to a natural disaster. The room attendants, the reception staff, the pool attendants, the waiters, even the chefs made me feel at home. Any updates from the airlines were duly communicated and they really emphathised with me. During my stay I was in one of their deluxe rooms which were really clean and comfortable. The only small issue I would comment on is that the internet was slightly slower than what I get at home - but it wasnt really a big deal. Please go experience what true hospitality is all about. Thank you to all the staff for making my experience as a "Volcanic Ash Victim" so much more bearable!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    370
    191
    66
    38
See reviews for
106
134
66
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here at the end of a recent trip to Kenya. After reading other reviews, I think some of the rooms must have been refurbished as our room was quite smart with very comfortable beds and duvets. We used the swimming pool and surrounding sunbeds which were very good. We were also quite happyy with the meals we enjoyed and the restaurant service. What let the hotel down in our opinion was the check in and check out - a very slow and laboured process! The service we received at the front desk was completely different to the excellent service we received elsewhere and definitely needs improvement.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur,India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

This was the start of our business tour of East Africa and we were put to a good start!
I thad all the services ,someof our colleaugues fromtrade delegation wanted tot ake to kenayan safari and they could manage through hotel.
Someof the staff , n fatc all those that I came across , they delivered the service before I contemplated.This was unusual as otherwise you get irritated with obswequeous[greedy, not genuine staff] . Hotelhad nice food , serives etc could make carrying out business more effectively. I thas all that you need ,moment you land in,bellboy is there and he takes you to counter then to room and expalins somefundamentals, and answers all your questions and where he can't ,he wd call upfromyr room itself and make sure you got satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed 6 days at this very good located luxury hotel, we were recieved very very helpfull and check-in was made in our suite, the staff was absolutely fantastic what ever we needed or asked for was solved immidiatly and with a big smile!
The Breakfast was very delicious and we could take it outside in the garden which my wife and me likes.
We have only good things to say and hope to return one day again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugoniebuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
145 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

This probably once was a great 5* but it has not been maintained well. The rooms are more like a 3* hotel- adequate but worn, with musty, mildewy carpet (yuk), a stained bathtub, mildew on the rubber anti-slip bathmat, and a chipped sink. I couldn't get the shower to dispense water at an agreeable temperature.

Service is erratic- like using the wireless internet in your room requires getting a code for which you call guest services, who refer you to the business center, who call you back 10mins later. On top of that the internet pricing is silly- no 24r access available and pricey. The safe in my room was locked- they came to open it after i asked but it show the lack of attention to detail.

The gym was closed for an unspecified period when i was there- too bad if you took this 5* hotel because of its facilities. The outdoor pool is OK but I prefer the one at the Serena hotel.

What the hotel has going for it is the location- walking distance to shops, restaurants etc. Also nice are the large windows that open (with mosquito netting) as Nairobi's climate can be very pleasant so i just had the window open all day.

However, for this price i would expect better service and better facilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed at the end of a memorable Safari. Completely spoiled the holiday. The staff is not adequately trained. The housekeeping is non-existant. The room had the following defects- At least three lights were not working, no fridge or minibar, iron not working, torn towels, the recessed glass shelves in the bathroom missing. Don't seem to believe in turning down the bed at night, had to remind the housekeeping at 10.00 pm, wait 30 minutes and make the bed ourselves! The list is endless. Never expected a Intercontinental to be shabby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGPNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
322 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

During a recent safari to Kenya I spent a total of 3 nights at the Interconti.
Check in was efficient, all reservation details at hand, so I only had to sign and got my key card.
My room, rather my suite, was well appointed and lacked nothing I would have missed, and the amenities in the bathroom were absolutely complete, including shaver, toothbrush, sewing kit and quality soaps, shampoo and showergel.
I particularly enjoyed the firm matress and good pillows, which allowed me some good nights sleep.
Most appreciated was the access to the 'Club Lounge' on the sixth floor, where a small meeting room is at guests' disposal and where breakfast is served for IHG card holders or guests invited to the facility, as I was. Wireless internet is available for free in the lounge and the attending staff are very observant and extremely helpful. Snacks are available throughout the day, a happy hour in the evening gets one in the pre-dinner mood - with several theme restaurants on the ground floor leaving the taste buds satisfied.
Very good value, central location and a warm and friendly staff right across the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing