We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely restaurants. Good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurants. Good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

Have stayed here many times over the years and am pleased to say that the Intercontinental has improved during that time. The rooms are very average in quality, but spacious and well equipped with minibar, sitting area, safe, desk and irons. My bathroom was very small and a little dated but clean. My hairdryer and one bedside light did not work, but then this is quite usual here. The room has big ceiling to floor windows that open but the noise from the very busy road below meant I had to keep them shut all the time.
The best things about the IC are the restaurants and the friendly service. The pool is heated but small and the sunbathing/bar area very busy.
Very centrally located.

  • Liked — Restaurants
  • Disliked — Not everything works in the rooms.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    383
    200
    66
    39
See reviews for
111
140
66
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

A good hotel, well managed with really thoughtful staff on the Club floor. African hotel experiences range from the surreal to the exquisite - this comes close to the latter. It's not pretty and the pool could be better - but you are in the middle of Nairobi!

If you are staying in a Club room (which I recommend) then you can avoid reception and go straight to the 6th floor to check in. Drink? Towel? When I found I'd lost my mobile phone charger the staff went looking for another guest with the same model and borrowed the charger for me. Outstanding.

Breakfast in the Club Lounge is good, as is the Indian restaurant. The pool bar is OK, while the main indoor bar is ugly and badly-lit. Sunday Brunch round the pool with a band is good, but very popular with screaming children...!

The concierge is pro-active and very helpful, and can organise for a car and driver to be paid shillings in cash and charged to your room in dollars.

I stayed in an ordinary room on another occasion and it was much more basic, rather tired, and the room service was markedly less responsive. Go Club and you'll be happy.

  • Liked — Thoughful service
  • Disliked — Baths not full size...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We held a series of meeting in Nairobi this year (5) and were lodged at the Intercontinental. Hotel is ok and service is good except 2 things: overbooking management and confusion in room pricing. Even though I was on their frequent visitor program, I had to suffer from differences in price, and waiting for hours before getting a room although it was booked in advance by the company and my card should guarantee me "fast" check in.
Apart from that, stay was nice. The rooms are quite nice although a bit old, and there is barely no difference between a superior and a deluxe room (while there is 100$ gap between the two). I heard from colleagues that their standard rooms are not so good. As part of a big hotel chain, if you are used to Intercontinental, rooms look like the same
You appreciate the reliable Internet speed which is sometimes difficult in East Africa.
The food was quite good.
And for business, the location is well centered, but not suited forsightseeing.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Overcrowded
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tsiresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of a safari. We arrived about ten at night and left about ten the next morning so our experience was limited. It is a modern hotel with all the amenities you might expect. The room was very nice as was the staff. Breakfast was in a very large pleasant room next to the pool. The public areas were appealing and comfortable. The hotel is close to all the major public government buildings although we only saw them from a car. This is certainly a good choice for an overnight before or after a safari.

  • Liked — Comfort/staff
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

The breakfast there is very great! Delicious & top class. ^^
Very nice room with all the facilities we need. Both air con & warming is available.

  • Liked — Breakfast & full amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing ^o^
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ah-b-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

This is good, strong managed on high "world the best" level. Very good for business travelers because of location, internal facilities and pricing.
Would recommend the bar on a ground floor (on a left side from the reception). You can meet a lot of interesting people there.
Rooms are very good. Food is good but expensive. Service is great.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tikhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed 3 nights and had an overall gr8 experience. Further, I think the Intercontinental is unfavorably ranked here at TA. Stayed 1st night in the Holiday Inn and it was just awful, so we switched over to the Intercontinental (lower rate too). It was like leaving a cottage for a castle!

Very fast and efficient check-in/out and super helpful service staff all over. Rooms are nice, can't really complain about anything. Liked for instance the multi-set power outlets unleashing the converter need.

Like the gym. It has all amenities I need: hantles, treadmills and some machines.

Nice breakfast buffet. Tried the dinner buffet at night, which was a good choice too. Try the crab, delicious! Had lunch one day in the pub/cafeteria, but service was quite slow. A hassle to pay with credit cards.

If I would have the pleasure to return to Nairobi, I will head here again!

  • Liked — Very good all over impression!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank svensktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing