We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were here for a day whilst in Transit. Lovely staff - upgraded our room as we were on honeymoon. Good food, clean and good security. We did not use many facilities, but the bed was comfortable, good clean sheets, nice size room and bathroom and pool outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Melissa R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I'm delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with the level of service offered by our hotel.

Once again, please receive my heartfelt thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    358
    187
    65
    37
See reviews for
104
129
62
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfection isn’t real but here at InterCon in Nairobi, excellence is always. And even when they make a mistake or shy from expectation, they are quick to respond, react, with courtesy, and ensure that your issue is solved. I always stay here while in Nairobi, can’t imagine anywhere else.
P.S. the breakfast is ah-mazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ann D,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

I'm truly delighted to know that you had an excellent InterContinental experience here at InterContinental Nairobi. Your complimenting words about our team made us all proud of what we do here and have inspired us to continue to strive for excellence. I will also be sure to share your kind comments with all the team members

Once again; many thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincere regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the beginning of our safari and the night before we left for home. We arrived late into the night after a very tiring 18-hour flight, and was greeted with a warm smile, quick and efficient check-in by the staff. The room was impeccable and the bed and bedding were comfortable. We were on the 7th floor on a corner room, and it provided us with the quite that we needed after the long flight. My only complaint was that they changed the bedding everyday, with no option to not change it if we wanted to. We also had the facial and the massage after returning from our safari, and it was pure bliss! The grime, stress, and tiredness melted away with the expert hands of our masseuse. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with good selections. They even provided us with a boxed breakfast at 5am which we took with us to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Samantha G,

Thank you for taking the time to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us in InterContinental Nairobi. I am delighted to hear that you found the room impeccable, the breakfast great and my colleagues friendly and efficient.

Thank you also for your feedback on the change of bedding. I am pleased to let you know that your suggestion is already implemented.

I certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
294 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight when we missed our Kenya Airways connecting flight. Overall a nice hotel but the rooms are definitely a bit old and rundown now. The restaurant had a nice buffet and the staff are accommodating so this somewhat made up for the older rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MakatiJoe,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the feedback from your recent stay with us at the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you liked our restaurants and staff service.

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Rooms are quite dated but adequate, possibly looking a little scruffy. The number one aspect of this hotel is the excellent service, which from previous experience in Africa, I expected to be poor. Check-in staff were excellent as were the staff at the pool bar and main restaurant. Only minor complaint was that the aircon did not initially work but this was due to it being switched off by a switch located in the wardrobe! Wifi was provided free of charge but signal is weak or non-existent at the pool-side bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear valDubai,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Nairobi and also for sharing your kind feedback. I am so glad you had a great stay with us and that will recommend us to others, that is always a great compliment. Thank you also for your feedback on the aircon and the wifi. We are working to address the concerns.

I hope on your next visit to Nairobi we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

extremely wonderful experience
club floor rooms are generous and clean with a variety of amenities
the club lounge offers a wide range of choices starting with breakfast and continuing till "happy hour"
staff is extremely careful and helpful

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marius S,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your observations of your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is great to hear that you found the club rooms generous and clean, and liked the offers at the Club lounge.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Due to an unexpected delay KLM Airlines sponsored our overnight stay here. This Hotel went out of their way for over 300 passengers---including a 5-star late night buffet. They gave high quality service as if we were diplomats. Our rooms were well appointed with a desk and light sofa sitting area, refrigerator, very nice furniture, spotless, They even provided early morning breakfast buffet at 4 a.m. with an amazing variety, best of a kind offering (their normal time of serving is 6 a.m. on). This is a truly top of the line hotel, definitely 5 star. I am rating it as an unforgettable,delightful" top of the line" hotel of all I have attended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenS957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear EllenS957,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is so fantastic to hear that you rated your stay as an unforgettable delightful and our hotel as “top of the line’.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing