We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old but in style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old but in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Last week I stayed for a short business trip at the Intercontinental Nairobi. It was a return visit and hence I had some expectations. The expectations were all met. The hotel is not of recent construction but the room I stayed in was well maintained, clean and spacious. The lobby was stylish and comfortable. Service was excellent with staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant served an excellent buffet breakfast and dinner was either à la carte or buffet. Good quality food. The hotel went out of its way to make my stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticallyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear CriticItaly2000,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Nairobi because of the room cleanliness, friendly and helpful service and quality of food.

It is a great pleasure to know that our great team made your stay pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    355
    186
    63
    37
See reviews for
103
127
60
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Not for the business traveller! Poor internet service which is very slow and disables at all time. No support during the night so it can be fixed. The electricity ports are not well attuned to US plugs. I am currently with an uncharged phone and computer. God forbid that you are working toward a deadline! Also the food is not great. For price not worth it. Stay at the Serena if you can?

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Ree R,

Thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Nairobi

I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. Your feedback is very important to us. I would wish to get in touch with you directly. Kindly let me know how I can reach you. You can reach me via e-mail: intercontinental.nairobi@ihg.com

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at the hotel 4 nights in overall on the 6th floor (executive floor)
The stuff is very kind but very slow in every aspect.
The hotel is old and not well maintained as if this is what I got on the executive floor I am guessing the other floors are not better.
Starting from the bathroom which is full of rust everywhere with burned lamps and very old fashion design.
The dirty iron board and some other issues in the rooms make it a big overall disappointment.
The bar near the pool it nice and the music is good.
Breakfast is good with a big variety of food, vegetables and fruits.

Room Tip: the side facing the main entrance is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWWCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear WWWCoyote,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us.

We are glad to know that you loved our Breakfast offerings and the Bar near the Pool.
It is disappointing to know that the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental Nairobi last week in April and left unhappy, but may be was also unlucky.Food, people, check in/out was great but not VFM IMHO. On entry in my room first day, was greeted by a baby cockroach in the sink, mother was probably nearby but did not see her. Bottle seals on the floor from previous users, AC worked on and off (understand as power went out in city for one of the days) but when it work, it stirred up dusts from old carpet. I got stuck in the old shaky lift going down the gym in the basement one morning, the taps ran dry in the middle of my shower (although water came back before technician arrived-I did'nt know if at all they came as I had left soon after shower getting late as I waited.) Generally may not return if I find a better option but property is well located for business and conferences and I like to stay at the conference venue.

Zav, 2, MAY

Room Tip: Avoid higher rooms to reduce your time in shaky lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kintu z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear kintu z,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I appreciate your willingness to share us your thoughts following your stay with us.

I regret to learn that our product did not meet your expectation this visit. The whole hotel team strives to provide each of our guests with the quality stay that they deserve and I am very sorry to learn that we were not able to achieve our goal in this occasion. We will look at each of the areas mentioned and ensure appropriate action is taken.

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us. I hope that you will grant us an opportunity to show you our improvements.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Intercon advantage is its location, right in to town. Good place to have business meetings and cut chat.

Service and food is very nice. only thing i didn't like is internet is not free. They still feel internet is luxury !!
Indian restaurant is very nice and pool side bar is good.

Room Tip: all rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKSingh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear DKSingh52,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Nairobi and for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is great to learn that our ideal location made your stay in our hotel convenient and that you loved the Indian Restaurant and the Pool Bar.

I am pleased to let you know that in conjunction with IHG Rewards Club, we now have an option for our valued guests to enjoy complimentary internet during their stay.

We hope to have another chance to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi, right opposite the government offices and Parliament House.

Stayed there twice book ending our safari. The first time we stayed in the right hand side of the building (as you walk in), and the second time we stayed in the left. The rooms on the RHS were definitely newer and in in much better condition but lacked a view. The LHS rooms were much older but had the better view.

Fantastic pool and poolside bar lounge.

Casino in the hotel is dated and no Baccarat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aditools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear aditools,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your last stay at InterContinental. It gave us great pleasure to read your positive comment with particular regards to our Deluxe Rooms and the fantastic poolside bar lounge.

We hope it will not be too long before having the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is ideal located and whatever you a have on your plans in Nairobi - the InterConti is top. Very helpful is also, that it is located not so far from the airport, specially flying towards Europe (I am using always Egypt Air) the plane leaves very, very early. The staff is very friendly and the food is exceptional. As I said, best stay in Nairobi!

Room Tip: For me it's the forth floor, but make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRS-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear JRS-Vienna,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi. I am pleased to receive your comments about our friendly staff and exceptional food.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we do appreciate your choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay.

On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing