We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hospitality, old unsafe property and lifts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hospitality, old unsafe property and lifts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental Nairobi last week in April and left unhappy, but may be was also unlucky.Food, people, check in/out was great but not VFM IMHO. On entry in my room first day, was greeted by a baby cockroach in the sink, mother was probably nearby but did not see her. Bottle seals on the floor from previous users, AC worked on and off (understand as power went out in city for one of the days) but when it work, it stirred up dusts from old carpet. I got stuck in the old shaky lift going down the gym in the basement one morning, the taps ran dry in the middle of my shower (although water came back before technician arrived-I did'nt know if at all they came as I had left soon after shower getting late as I waited.) Generally may not return if I find a better option but property is well located for business and conferences and I like to stay at the conference venue.

Zav, 2, MAY

Room Tip: Avoid higher rooms to reduce your time in shaky lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kintu z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear kintu z,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I appreciate your willingness to share us your thoughts following your stay with us.

I regret to learn that our product did not meet your expectation this visit. The whole hotel team strives to provide each of our guests with the quality stay that they deserve and I am very sorry to learn that we were not able to achieve our goal in this occasion. We will look at each of the areas mentioned and ensure appropriate action is taken.

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us. I hope that you will grant us an opportunity to show you our improvements.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    395
    205
    71
    41
See reviews for
113
144
68
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Intercon advantage is its location, right in to town. Good place to have business meetings and cut chat.

Service and food is very nice. only thing i didn't like is internet is not free. They still feel internet is luxury !!
Indian restaurant is very nice and pool side bar is good.

Room Tip: all rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKSingh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear DKSingh52,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Nairobi and for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is great to learn that our ideal location made your stay in our hotel convenient and that you loved the Indian Restaurant and the Pool Bar.

I am pleased to let you know that in conjunction with IHG Rewards Club, we now have an option for our valued guests to enjoy complimentary internet during their stay.

We hope to have another chance to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi, right opposite the government offices and Parliament House.

Stayed there twice book ending our safari. The first time we stayed in the right hand side of the building (as you walk in), and the second time we stayed in the left. The rooms on the RHS were definitely newer and in in much better condition but lacked a view. The LHS rooms were much older but had the better view.

Fantastic pool and poolside bar lounge.

Casino in the hotel is dated and no Baccarat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aditools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear aditools,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your last stay at InterContinental. It gave us great pleasure to read your positive comment with particular regards to our Deluxe Rooms and the fantastic poolside bar lounge.

We hope it will not be too long before having the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is ideal located and whatever you a have on your plans in Nairobi - the InterConti is top. Very helpful is also, that it is located not so far from the airport, specially flying towards Europe (I am using always Egypt Air) the plane leaves very, very early. The staff is very friendly and the food is exceptional. As I said, best stay in Nairobi!

Room Tip: For me it's the forth floor, but make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRS-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear JRS-Vienna,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi. I am pleased to receive your comments about our friendly staff and exceptional food.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we do appreciate your choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay.

On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel in points is:
. Best located to start a visit to Kenya in the heart of the city.
. Staff are professional, helpful & welcoming specially if you are an IHG member when your reservation and check in will be handled smoothly and swift by a separate desk for members.
. Room is so clean and taken care by an excellent attendants.
. Food is very good with multiple collections, The pool terrace restaurant met all my expectations in breakfast and dinner!
. This is the most secured hotel I have ever stayed in.
. I do walked around, even went walking to the city market where a lot of African souvenirs can be purchased with open price negotiation.
.it was my first visit to Kenya and defiantly if coming back would stay here.
. We were in vacation, stayed one night, left to Masai Mara for a safari, came back other night and we flew to Mombassa next morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hexa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Hexa67,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Nairobi especially because of our location, service, food and security. We take guest security very seriously and I am glad you have noticed this.

The InterContinental Nairobi team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and professional. The quality of the hotel is very good, rooms are nice, the Indian restaurant offers very nice food.

When you are obviously a foreigner (like being white), going out of the hotel is problematic. You will be immediately "attacked" by someone who tries to get money. Security of the hotel recommends not to go out of the hotel on foot. So in fact you are imprisoned, unless you use cars all the time. The location, downtown Nairobi, sounds good, but is only useful if you really need to be downtown. Otherwise, because of the heavy traffic, you might better find a hotel further away from downtown.

The hotel is really of good quality but has spoiled it horrible. When I arrived on Sunday, they put me in a room at the seventh floor. In the evening, people started a party one floor below. Not a small party, but a noisy, loud, big party, with lots of music and heavy drums. After I complained around 0:45 to the reception, they told me they would do something about it. The result: the music got even more louder. When I complained again at 01:30, they told me it would almost finish. At 02:15, I got so mad that they finally offered me another room. From a colleague I heard the party went on till four o'clock in the morning. From Kenyan colleagues I heard the hotel is well known for this parties. When I book a hotel room, I expect to be able to sleep, otherwise I would book a night club. What I really mind is that the staff knows about this parties, and still puts you in rooms where they know it is extremely noisy when such parties take place. For sure I am not the first one who complains about such parties, but still no one seems to take care about it. It is really a shame such a high standard hotel (chain) treats customers in such horrible way. That is for me the reason to give it the mark "terrible".

Room Tip: Keep away from the seventh floor or at least use the higher numbers (above 750) to avoid that you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd_groningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear jfd_groningen

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and professional. We are also glad that you liked our rooms and the Indian Restaurant.

As one of our valued guests I was disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay; I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincerest apologies.

We do our best to ensure that our guests are not disturbed whenever there is a function in the hotel. This time things went beyond our expectation and I once again regret the inconvenience this caused you.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Good quality of services. Room very worn. Old furnishings. Curtain could hardly open properly. Bathroom also dated. From the bed you could hear people chatting in the corridor. Buffet dinner was ok, but expensive. Roast beef was a chewy as cold chewing gum. Breakfast was good, but no fresh juices. Gym downstairs had outdated machines, and one of the three treadmills was dangerous to use (but still in use!). Expensive and certainly not a European standard of 5-star.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budapestguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear budapestguy,

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to know that you liked our quality of services.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the hotel condition issues and the quality of food. Rest assured that this will be reviewed and rectified to avoid the same issue in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#20 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing