We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and comfortable beds food was so nice the restaurant is just perfect service is good and this place also good for those who came for business and for holidays, weekends i really loved everything I enjoyed the stay in this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reginah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Reginah R,

It was our pleasure to host you. We are excited to know that your stay was perfect.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    407
    214
    74
    41
See reviews for
121
148
71
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has a great chain name, I thought that it will has the standards that all IHG property has but it is really old, the decoration of the lobby feels like need a demodulation, the rooms are spacious but needs urgent maintenance, the bathroom and need more supervision the marble looks old and the carpet needs a renewal as soon as possible, we stayed one night we were on our way to the safari outside Nairobi, the service is fine but overall this hotel need a demodulation.

Room Tip: try the breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackordaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jackordaz,

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us during your visit of September 2013.
Your comments are important to us and will be considered as we work on improving our product.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two separate nights at the hotel with very different experiences .i had booked a suite with butler service complimentary drinks and snacks in the private lounge .Delays with our flights(terminal fire)however meant that we arrived after 10 pm only to be met with no complimentary snacks or drinks .poor information about our breakfast lounge resulting in us using the general restaurant .Our complaints were listened to and we were offered a return visit at the end of our stay .What a difference ! A superb private lounge with happy hour from 6-8 pm free alcoholic and soft drinks lovely snack Buffett savory and sweet food. A comfortable lounge and spectacular sunrise the following morning over breakfast .great service to make up for first visit.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyjpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Luckyjpq,

Thank you for letting us know that the Service Recovery of our team helped to turn around your previous unfavorable experience to a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit and to even a greater experience.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

While the Intercontinental has always been the go to place for people preparing to go on safari, it has become a bit dated with a less than attentive staff. Rooms are satisfactory but not wonderful and food is only okay. The location and safety are the best things going for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bobsadt,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful that you appreciated our location which is one of the many reasons that guests choose to stay with us. Your comments about the condition of the hotel are also appreciated. We welcome any feedback that will help us improve.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from our Friendly Planet trip and this was our first stop and last stop on the way back to the US. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was tidy and clean. The food was ok, we did not eat the buffet because the windows were open and there were a lot of flies. We ordered off of the menu. The pool area was really nice as well. I will say the staff in the restaurant staff was great! We were there for a couple of nights and then a day stay and we enjoyed the time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araymond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear araymond89,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Our staff are excited that they made your stay memorable.
We will be happy to host you again during your next trip.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the InterContinental Hotel in Nairobi. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing and the room comfortable. The gym was also very well equipped. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldeenvanderWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear AldeenvanderWalt,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you had a great experience and are grateful for your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very busy hotel in the central Nairobi. Quite popular place, lot of people at all times, but still very cosy and charming
Rooms are decent, breakfast very good, lunch and dinner buffet rich and diversified. Only the pool is not really appealing, too close to the bar…
In general highly recommended especially for short business trips

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Helena_Maputo

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms cosy and charming. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the meals in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 164 in Nairobi
1,240 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,131 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
476 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#20 of 164 in Nairobi
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing