We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from our Friendly Planet trip and this was our first stop and last stop on the way back to the US. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was tidy and clean. The food was ok, we did not eat the buffet because the windows were open and there were a lot of flies. We ordered off of the menu. The pool area was really nice as well. I will say the staff in the restaurant staff was great! We were there for a couple of nights and then a day stay and we enjoyed the time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank araymond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear araymond89,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Our staff are excited that they made your stay memorable.
We will be happy to host you again during your next trip.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    383
    200
    66
    39
See reviews for
111
140
66
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the InterContinental Hotel in Nairobi. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing and the room comfortable. The gym was also very well equipped. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldeenvanderWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear AldeenvanderWalt,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you had a great experience and are grateful for your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very busy hotel in the central Nairobi. Quite popular place, lot of people at all times, but still very cosy and charming
Rooms are decent, breakfast very good, lunch and dinner buffet rich and diversified. Only the pool is not really appealing, too close to the bar…
In general highly recommended especially for short business trips

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Helena_Maputo

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms cosy and charming. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the meals in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was the last day of our honeymoon. Everything seemed to be going great. The front desk was excellent in their service until we called the room service to order dinner and then it was turmoil. The messed up our order three times and by the time they finally got the order right, it was two hours later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obidimma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Obidimma E

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in the room service order. We have put measures in place to ensure this is addressed. We have also responded to you directly via e-mail.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

very old rooms, very old hotel, stinks ,dirty and smelly ... Food is below average and they really need a complete makeover...Stay in the Fairmont instead.
The location was very good though, middle of the business district... This is important since Nairobi can get very crowded at times

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamersalahsaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear tamersalahsaleh,

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our guests. Your comments are vital to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure continued guest satisfaction.

We value your feedback.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the InterContinental, Nairobi..
Over a weekend of mixed and contrary emotions....tragedy at the Westgate Mall....euphoria at the Moi Stadium where enya lifted the Safaricom sevens title, the interContinteal was a good mix of both emotions with its muliti cultural clientelle, and friendly Kenyan staff

A comfortable stay at both a sad and hapy time for Kenyans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear amit J

Thanks for staying with us and for your great review.
We are glad that you found our rooms luxurious, our staff courteous and enjoyed our breakfast menu. We are grateful that you noticed the popularity of our Hotel. We do our best to maintain great service which is why we are popular.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Nairobi is a city, which can be enjoyed if one is in heart of the city, that's where the business is in day time and life in the night and Intercontinental is in the bang middle of the city. The hotel has extremely good and luxurious room, courteous staff, good breakfast menu. The hotel lobby seems to be small when one compares with number of guests and hence seems to be always crowded and same is with the coffee shop.

The hotel is extremely popular among the travelers and hence always full, please make reservations in advance, but this hotel is far better than its famed neighbor "Nairobi Hilton"

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear amit J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that the proximity of our hotel, quality of rooms, breakfast and courteousness of our staff met your complete satisfaction, thus your memorable experience here in the hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing