We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveler rating
344
465
232
77
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
465
232
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicepool sidecentral locationbusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai marasecurityihgsafariconciergekicc
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the InterContinental, Nairobi..
Over a weekend of mixed and contrary emotions....tragedy at the Westgate Mall....euphoria at the Moi Stadium where enya lifted the Safaricom sevens title, the interContinteal was a good mix of both emotions with its muliti cultural clientelle, and friendly Kenyan staff

A comfortable stay at both a sad and hapy time for Kenyans

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear amit J

Thanks for staying with us and for your great review.
We are glad that you found our rooms luxurious, our staff courteous and enjoyed our breakfast menu. We are grateful that you noticed the popularity of our Hotel. We do our best to maintain great service which is why we are popular.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nairobi is a city, which can be enjoyed if one is in heart of the city, that's where the business is in day time and life in the night and Intercontinental is in the bang middle of the city. The hotel has extremely good and luxurious room, courteous staff, good breakfast menu. The hotel lobby seems to be small when one compares with number of guests and hence seems to be always crowded and same is with the coffee shop.

The hotel is extremely popular among the travelers and hence always full, please make reservations in advance, but this hotel is far better than its famed neighbor "Nairobi Hilton"

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear amit J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that the proximity of our hotel, quality of rooms, breakfast and courteousness of our staff met your complete satisfaction, thus your memorable experience here in the hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

When it comes to hotels in Nairobi, this one is as good as you are going to get. Good showers with plenty of hot water, generous outlets to charge your electronics up, clean and relatively friendly. The LEAST friendly part are the locals at the entrances and in the lobby, who treat you like a speed bump, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Also, if you are not used to it, the inspection of your vehicle upon entry into the driveway can be a little disconcerting, so be prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front give you a good view of the parliment buildings and the storks which roost in the trees across the street. Not noisy, either.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kqhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear kqhouston,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you loved the view of your room and ability to power your electronics in the comfort of the restaurants.

We have taken note of your concerns about the security measures at the entrance to the lobby. We regret any inconvenience caused to you. It is our responsibility to ensure safety of our guests, staff and the property at all times and measures in place are meant to deter unauthorized persons access into the hotel premises.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

i was surprised of the level of intercontinental Nairobi , it seems that intercontinental forgot they have an hotel in Nairobi , the staff is good , friendly , and trying to do their best , however the facility itself is old , not maintained , and is not worthy for that high rate , comparing to other hotels in Nairobi like Fairmont or Serena , intercontinental should be rated below 0 , the pool restaurant is good , service is the worst , you might have a good experience in the Indian restaurant , really hope this would change in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaRiMaSsEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear KaRiMaSsEm,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Our attention is drawn to the concerns you have raised regarding to the condition of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We are working on a plan to upgrade our product, in order to enhance your comfort and satisfaction during your future visits.

We are delighted to note that you had an opportunity dine at our Terrace (restaurant by the pool) the Bhandini (Indian restaurant). We appreciate your comments about the service quality at the Terrace restaurant and are working on improvement.

Once again, we thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a memorable stay overall at intercontinental Nairobi which is in a reasonably quiet part of the city. The rooms are very nice clean and comfy for the business and leisure traveller and full marks for that. Ok the TV could do with some tech update but at least it works. Room facilities were gr8 The meals were excellent and the new dishes everyday ensured that even after a week in the hotel, one wasn't fed up with the food. Gym is small but decent and I didn't have time to try the pool. The bad experience was at the Makuti bar on Friday where the orders took for ever and were messed up. Nice touch though by the Manager in fixing this and comping us when we complained

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Howard C

Thank you for posting your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

We are grateful that you found our rooms nice and comfortable and the meals excellent. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced in Makuti Bar and are glad that this was sorted out for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews