We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice stay overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a memorable stay overall at intercontinental Nairobi which is in a reasonably quiet part of the city. The rooms are very nice clean and comfy for the business and leisure traveller and full marks for that. Ok the TV could do with some tech update but at least it works. Room facilities were gr8 The meals were excellent and the new dishes everyday ensured that even after a week in the hotel, one wasn't fed up with the food. Gym is small but decent and I didn't have time to try the pool. The bad experience was at the Makuti bar on Friday where the orders took for ever and were messed up. Nice touch though by the Manager in fixing this and comping us when we complained

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Howard C

Thank you for posting your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

We are grateful that you found our rooms nice and comfortable and the meals excellent. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced in Makuti Bar and are glad that this was sorted out for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    370
    191
    66
    38
See reviews for
106
134
66
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A Nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Some rooms are being renovated and upgraded with plasma tvs. My room did not have a plasma, previously informed by the receptionist but had a nice view of the city .
The breakfast was very rich in all aspects. Several restaurants and bars around the hotel. The service at the bar needs attention.
The Intercontinental Nairobi is very well protected. Security is a must for them.
I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kool2bbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kool2bbop,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We also appreciate your compliments for our breakfast - very rich in all aspects. Security of our guests is of key concern to us and we are happy you noticed this.

We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hotel Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi is much like main stream American hotels in the US. Our rooms were large and comfortable, the service good, and the security very good. We were there before and after the bombing of the mall and the management was very security conscious. We tried all of the restaurants. All were at best ok and over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jim F,

It was our pleasure to provide you with a safe environment during the challenging times after the Westgate Mall attack.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am always surprised how international operators like IHG maintain and manage properties that are tired and dated. The Intercontinental in Nairobi is a case in point and the pictures definitely demonstrate it. I was told that i was upgraded to a superior room at check in - would not like to see what a standard room would look like. The room size is just about ok while the bathroom is so small that you can touch the walls if u spread hour arms. The hotel is past its heyday - restaurants are week and the food and beverage offering in all the restaurants is the same. You visit the bar the all day dining and the pool bar the menu cover is different but food identical - some five star.
The bar is full of prostitutes promoted by the bar staff themselves. My advice stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear FrequentTraveller400,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nearest location to kicc walking distance have Indian restaurant in it every Sunday they have an awesome brunch all rooms are non smoking pool very small rooms old style the club room and the normal room are same also have nice casino

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear sachen79,

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback in Trip Advisor.
It is wonderful to know that you had a chance to enjoy our awesome Sunday Brunch.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good property in the middle of the city; Opposite Freedom park & near Nayaya House.
Food is quite basic but rooms and facilities are quite good. Was on a business trip and enjoyed the stay and conference facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing road; for a good view of city or pool view for excellent freedom park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjivkjetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear sanjivkjetly,

Thank you sharing your feedback. We are pleased you liked the rooms and the facilities. We apologize that the food you had fell short of your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was our one night stop over before a safari and we had a lovely experience first class room, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant buffet food plentiful varied and delicious,we did not eat in the Indian restaurant it looked less impressive and dark. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was great.There was security at the entrance which made us feel safe and cars were checked underneath and in the luggage area.I recommend this hotel for anyone to stay at but there is not much for very young children however the outdoor pool looked clean although we never used it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear robine974,

Thank you for your most comprehensive review.
We are delighted that you experienced great service from our pleasant and helpful staff. We are also happy that you found our rooms great, restaurant food plentiful and that you felt very secure while with us.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing