We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakwood Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jamiat Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Hilton Nairobi(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveler rating
318
457
229
76
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
457
229
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicecentral locationpool sidebusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai maraihgsecuritysafariconciergegym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hotel Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi is much like main stream American hotels in the US. Our rooms were large and comfortable, the service good, and the security very good. We were there before and after the bombing of the mall and the management was very security conscious. We tried all of the restaurants. All were at best ok and over priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Jim F,

It was our pleasure to provide you with a safe environment during the challenging times after the Westgate Mall attack.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am always surprised how international operators like IHG maintain and manage properties that are tired and dated. The Intercontinental in Nairobi is a case in point and the pictures definitely demonstrate it. I was told that i was upgraded to a superior room at check in - would not like to see what a standard room would look like. The room size is just about ok while the bathroom is so small that you can touch the walls if u spread hour arms. The hotel is past its heyday - restaurants are week and the food and beverage offering in all the restaurants is the same. You visit the bar the all day dining and the pool bar the menu cover is different but food identical - some five star.
The bar is full of prostitutes promoted by the bar staff themselves. My advice stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear FrequentTraveller400,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nearest location to kicc walking distance have Indian restaurant in it every Sunday they have an awesome brunch all rooms are non smoking pool very small rooms old style the club room and the normal room are same also have nice casino

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear sachen79,

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback in Trip Advisor.
It is wonderful to know that you had a chance to enjoy our awesome Sunday Brunch.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good property in the middle of the city; Opposite Freedom park & near Nayaya House.
Food is quite basic but rooms and facilities are quite good. Was on a business trip and enjoyed the stay and conference facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing road; for a good view of city or pool view for excellent freedom park.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjivkjetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear sanjivkjetly,

Thank you sharing your feedback. We are pleased you liked the rooms and the facilities. We apologize that the food you had fell short of your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was our one night stop over before a safari and we had a lovely experience first class room, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant buffet food plentiful varied and delicious,we did not eat in the Indian restaurant it looked less impressive and dark. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was great.There was security at the entrance which made us feel safe and cars were checked underneath and in the luggage area.I recommend this hotel for anyone to stay at but there is not much for very young children however the outdoor pool looked clean although we never used it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear robine974,

Thank you for your most comprehensive review.
We are delighted that you experienced great service from our pleasant and helpful staff. We are also happy that you found our rooms great, restaurant food plentiful and that you felt very secure while with us.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews