We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old dowager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Premium Club Room Offer
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old dowager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Somehow the InterContinental hotels seem to have lost their way and Nairobi is no exception. Clearly in need of a major facelift the public areas are tired and dowdy.

Service though was warm and engaging, with the staff making a genuine effort to take care of the guest. I checked in early but both the receptionist and the club lounge associate did their best to make the wait painless and as short as possible.

Room service too was prompt and efficient, as the Indian restaurant was full they organised for me to be served in the room. The food too was tasty and authentic.

Room Tip: Take the club option, the lounge is a great haven and convenient for meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear keasdad,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the warm and engaging service from our staff. I also notice that you found the Room Service prompt and the food in our Indian Restaurant tasty.
Your comments on the state of the public areas have been noted. We are working on a plan to improve the general hotel facilities.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    353
    186
    63
    37
See reviews for
103
127
60
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived in Kenya, one night as we transferred to Tanzania and had a day room for several hours before we flew out. We experienced both the 'not yet renovated' wing and the renovated. We noted the difference but other aspects of the hotel made up for the differences. We were there as the Westgate Mall terrorist attack began. The hotel, already well secured, was more heavily secured immediately. We were nervous about being in Nairobi at all, so stayed indoors and enjoyed the facilities. Nice casual bar seating but our favorite was the daily breakfast buffet. Wonderful service by staff. Conveniently located. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JDickens,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad that you felt safe with us even during the unfortunate incident at Westgate. We are pleased that you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed the services at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the City. 15 min from Central market. Minutes from all major Govt institutions.
Good sleep conditions. good food spead at the hotel buffets.

Stayed here twice in 3 months , extremely poor service at coffe shop , not even once in 7 times i hosted guest at the hotel was i able to get a cup of coffee on time.

Hotel need major make over for the Intercontinental brand.

Overall felt its over priced for the service and performance. The price is being command due to the band value

Room Tip: Higher floors and Front facing recommended to atleast cut the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank varun_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear varun_vc

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the level of service you experience at the Coffee shop. We will give more focus to this area to ensure we deliver the level of service our valued guests like you expect.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used to stay at the Nairobi Interconti in the late 1990's up to 2007. At the time it was fine, especially after the rooms were renovated and the lobby was updated. Now after 6 years I was back for an overnight. In some ways it was nice to be back, mainly due to the nice, courteous and professional attitude of the staff. The hotel hardware however has deteriorated without any updates whatsoever. The towel rack in my room was hanging loose from the bathroom wall, pipes/plumbing were rusty, the carpet was worn and dirty and the air conditioning made my room smell like a sports team changing room. Windows don't close properly so lots of noise from the adjacent highway filters through.
The pool area is also right next to the main highway through Nairobi. The noise and air pollution will chase you back inside before you could even come close to a sunburn. The pool itself is useless for any lap swimming exercise as there is a solid floating line through the middle of it. The fitness in the basement is reasonable for treadmills but desperately in need of other cardio equipment. All is very claustrophobic.
The hotel bar hasn't changed much, but somehow with bars that tends to add character. As said earlier, the hotel staff is nice. Good service level. But that still does not outweigh the drawbacks mentioned above. The whole experience is not worthy of the Intercontinental brand.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Rene S,

Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you noticed the nice, courteous and professional attitude of our staff. We are aware that our product is due for renovation and are working with the owners to have this done as soon as possible.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perhaps I am biased but I always try to stay in the Intercontinental chain even when in transit. This one is among the best I have stayed in, the staff were all of a high standard and couldn't have been more helpful. This was my first visit to Nairobi and I'll be back to this hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ian S,

Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and to offer you the service that we are well known for.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Kenya and obviously Nairobi is always a stopover, or more. I don't always stay at the InterCon, but still many times per year. With the manic traffic (compounded by idiotic control through the circles), you really don't want to spend more time in suspended animation, so location is important and the InterCon is one of the first decent hotels you can access in CBD. It is a large property and during my current stay appeared to be chockers, with more than one conference. Still the staff just seemed to get it right. I eat at two of the restaurants and both experiences were just fine. This was during the dreadful Westgate tragedy and I have to say my heart went out to each and every one of them, for putting on a brave face and a positive demeanor, caring for customers, when they had every reason to have their minds elsewhere. The rooms are comfortable and general attention pretty good. A reliable place to stay for business and also as a transit point if you are on safari. There are plenty of options and I've tried them all. This is a good product which has progressively improved.

Room Tip: Go high and away from the elevators. All of them are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear David Graham S,

I am glad that our staff got everything right for you. I am also happy that you liked our location and found our rooms comfortable.
We hope to see you back soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice. & is in a very good place, however, I knew that they have new rooms, well decorated with new LCDs, but I visited the hotel twice and in both times, I was given an old room with a conventional TV.
But the food was very good, & the team was professional & nice,
The GYM is not up to my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmedamr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ahmedamr80,

How nice to know that you found our food very good and the team very professional and nice.
The new rooms are usually on high demand. Kindly let us know in advance of your preference and we will arrange it for you.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing