We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$234
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveler rating
346
465
233
77
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
465
233
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicepool sidecentral locationbusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai marasecurityihgsafariconciergekicc
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived in Kenya, one night as we transferred to Tanzania and had a day room for several hours before we flew out. We experienced both the 'not yet renovated' wing and the renovated. We noted the difference but other aspects of the hotel made up for the differences. We were there as the Westgate Mall terrorist attack began. The hotel, already well secured, was more heavily secured immediately. We were nervous about being in Nairobi at all, so stayed indoors and enjoyed the facilities. Nice casual bar seating but our favorite was the daily breakfast buffet. Wonderful service by staff. Conveniently located. Recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear JDickens,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad that you felt safe with us even during the unfortunate incident at Westgate. We are pleased that you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed the services at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the City. 15 min from Central market. Minutes from all major Govt institutions.
Good sleep conditions. good food spead at the hotel buffets.

Stayed here twice in 3 months , extremely poor service at coffe shop , not even once in 7 times i hosted guest at the hotel was i able to get a cup of coffee on time.

Hotel need major make over for the Intercontinental brand.

Overall felt its over priced for the service and performance. The price is being command due to the band value

Room Tip: Higher floors and Front facing recommended to atleast cut the noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank varun_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear varun_vc

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the level of service you experience at the Coffee shop. We will give more focus to this area to ensure we deliver the level of service our valued guests like you expect.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used to stay at the Nairobi Interconti in the late 1990's up to 2007. At the time it was fine, especially after the rooms were renovated and the lobby was updated. Now after 6 years I was back for an overnight. In some ways it was nice to be back, mainly due to the nice, courteous and professional attitude of the staff. The hotel hardware however has deteriorated without any updates whatsoever. The towel rack in my room was hanging loose from the bathroom wall, pipes/plumbing were rusty, the carpet was worn and dirty and the air conditioning made my room smell like a sports team changing room. Windows don't close properly so lots of noise from the adjacent highway filters through.
The pool area is also right next to the main highway through Nairobi. The noise and air pollution will chase you back inside before you could even come close to a sunburn. The pool itself is useless for any lap swimming exercise as there is a solid floating line through the middle of it. The fitness in the basement is reasonable for treadmills but desperately in need of other cardio equipment. All is very claustrophobic.
The hotel bar hasn't changed much, but somehow with bars that tends to add character. As said earlier, the hotel staff is nice. Good service level. But that still does not outweigh the drawbacks mentioned above. The whole experience is not worthy of the Intercontinental brand.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Rene S,

Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you noticed the nice, courteous and professional attitude of our staff. We are aware that our product is due for renovation and are working with the owners to have this done as soon as possible.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perhaps I am biased but I always try to stay in the Intercontinental chain even when in transit. This one is among the best I have stayed in, the staff were all of a high standard and couldn't have been more helpful. This was my first visit to Nairobi and I'll be back to this hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ian S,

Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and to offer you the service that we are well known for.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Kenya and obviously Nairobi is always a stopover, or more. I don't always stay at the InterCon, but still many times per year. With the manic traffic (compounded by idiotic control through the circles), you really don't want to spend more time in suspended animation, so location is important and the InterCon is one of the first decent hotels you can access in CBD. It is a large property and during my current stay appeared to be chockers, with more than one conference. Still the staff just seemed to get it right. I eat at two of the restaurants and both experiences were just fine. This was during the dreadful Westgate tragedy and I have to say my heart went out to each and every one of them, for putting on a brave face and a positive demeanor, caring for customers, when they had every reason to have their minds elsewhere. The rooms are comfortable and general attention pretty good. A reliable place to stay for business and also as a transit point if you are on safari. There are plenty of options and I've tried them all. This is a good product which has progressively improved.

Room Tip: Go high and away from the elevators. All of them are pretty good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear David Graham S,

I am glad that our staff got everything right for you. I am also happy that you liked our location and found our rooms comfortable.
We hope to see you back soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews