We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but below Intercon standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay, but below Intercon standards”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

While the room I stayed-in had been recently upgraded, and the restaurants were quite good, I found he hotel to be (overall) below the Intercon's standard. The lobby was crowded and dirty; the furniture in the lobby/restaurants was dated; and,my recently updated non-smoking smelled of stale smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ramzyk,

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. Your comments will be taken into account as we work on a plan to upgrade our facilities.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    407
    214
    74
    41
See reviews for
121
148
73
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 12 day Safari for one night before flying back to Johanneburg the next day.
The hotel was a welcome change from the lodges with a bit of a "touch of luxury", however the place was a little run down in places.
The room size was reasonable and the bed comfortable medium to firm, however the bath room was a bit of a let down with poor quality grouting and sealing of the tiles. Our room over looked the carpark at the rear and roof array of 8 satelite dishes of varying sizes. I went to the roof reception area (badly rundown ) for a better photo of the surrounding area in the morning.
The hotel is right in the middle of town but as we came in just on dark we dared not venture out into the streets.
The buffet breakfast was good, but once again sloppy workmanship was showing in this area with poor paintwork (paint splatter on tiles & mirrors). The hotel seemed very busy with a lot of business travellers especially. The pool / bar area looked inviting just outside the dining area but had to leave early for the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent view not roof tops. Some travellers are reporting newly renovated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear skiclubtraveller

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad that you found our room size as reasonable and bed comfortable.
Our Engineering team have taken note on your concerns on maintenance of the Hotel. We are working on a plan to address the areas of concern.

Thanks once again for your feedback

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

If you plan on taking a trip to Nairobi and have business in the city centre, this is a great place to stay. I was first impressed with the security as we drove up and entered the hotel. I was then warmly greeted by the very friendly and professional staff. The service was quick and kind. The rooms are not bad, what you expect from this sort of hotel. I had room service and again would say the food was okay. Overall I enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it for short business travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gerrit777

We thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed being served by our friendly and professional staff.

It was our pleasure serving you.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Intercontinental is a stone's throw from the Kenyan parliament, the hotel preferred by visiting dignitaries and country heads. However, as a business user, I found the property old and needing a fair bit of renovation. Services and restaurants are perfect. In the heart of the city, so sometimes need to let traffic clear.

My long stay was overall satisfactory, would have rated very good, if the property would have been renovated(Spa, flooring chipping away at places).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ravi512

Yes, we are the hotel of choice for visiting dignitaries and country heads. We are happy that you noticed this. Thank you also for highlighting that you found our restaurant services perfect.

We also thank you for the feedback on the need for renovation. We are working on a plan with the owners to have this done.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived early for an organized tour. The room we were shown to was in terrible condition, dirty and unsafe. Was told for an addition $60 we could have a new room. My husband had the manager come and inspect the room, and the manager agreed that it was inhospitable. We were then given a new room in the new wing without the additional cost. I was told by one of the staff that they are planning on demolishing the old wing.

The new wing is very nice and the hotel has a couple of nice bars and restaurants.

However with that being said, when we returned from our safari we were once again given a room in the old section. The room smelt terrible and the bathroom was very unsafe. The hotel management found us another room in the old section and said that they would not put us in the new section since we were with a tour company.

It was suggested that we do not leave the property because it's not very safe. Overall, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Linnbada

We are grateful for your feedback. We apologize that the room condition did not meet your expectation on this visit. I am glad you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe wing in one of your visits and you liked the room then. We are currently working on a plan with our ownership to renovate the standard rooms.

Thanks once again for your visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the first time travelling to Nairobi and I must say my husband and I travel all over the world and our first impression of a country is the airport, even though they faced issues with a fire just over a month ago the service there was very quick and friendly, and our driver from the intercontinental Nairobi was waiting for us and we were able to check in in the car, awesome. From the time we arrived at the hotel the chef concierge Samson Wahore and his staff were brilliant, they catered to our every need, We love it there and We will return, very soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Kelahm,

The team is very happy that they made your stay memorable. We are happy that you will be returning soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi as part of a Safari package.
This poor rating for the hotel is based on the room quality.
Arriving late the first night after the trial and tribulations of coming in through the Nairobi airport ( aftermath of the airport fire), I was absolutely flabagasted at the state of the room. I have been in contact with the hotel and received an apology from the manager. This does not however detract from the fact that this room is still being used. The best way to describe it is to say that the room has not been updated since the hotel was opened in 1968. Tiles painted over / furniture shabby / electrical plugs not working and burnt out. The rest of the hotel is fine - usual good intercom breakfast / good service with a smile. Anyway the tip is : straight away request an updated room / inspect the room before you even take your bags to it.
Very disappointing for an Intercontinental Hotel.

Room Tip: When booking mention you want a revamped room. When you arrive check the room before even taking bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear kelvincraig,

Thank you for sharing with us your review. We apologize that your room fell short of your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thanks once again for sharing your feedback with us.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 164 in Nairobi
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing