We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$214
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
$188
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$206
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$154
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
328
458
232
76
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
458
232
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicecentral locationpool sidebusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai maraihgsecuritysafariconciergegym
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I don't know why someone felt such bad of this hotel. what I felt is good, reach five star hotel level. intercontinental is same everywhere, room is big and clean enough, welcome fruits and wine for ambassador client. lounge serves very good food and drinks from morning to night. all are fine. after we finished 10 days ECO safari on Masai Mara and Samburu, intercontinental give us a complete relax, hot and big shower, free wifi access. our room is park view, however, we found opposite room's view are better, there's no slippers in our room, but we requested from housekeeping. staff here are friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish_Ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Fish_Ting,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel, friendliness of our colleagues and Club Lounge facilities and services. We are glad to know that you appreciate the benefits that you enjoyed at the Club InterContinental Lounge.

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 2 separate occasions while doing a tour of Kenya and Tanzania. The first room we were assigned was on the 3rd floor and it was good, but not outstanding. The second time we stayed we were put in a room on the 7th floor with a much nicer view. They were having some problems with the elevators, but seemed to get them working again. The food buffet for breakfast was excellent and the one light dinner we had was reasonable and freshly prepared. The service was excellent.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear mikesflorida,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share with us, your feedback about InterContinental Nairobi.

We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and are committed to consistently offer superior service to all our guests.

The interruption with the elevator service was caused by a minor technical problem, which the Engineering team fixed timely.

We hope to see you again at InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In 2004 I spent 5 nights at the Nairobi Intercontinental and loved it. Last month I went back to Nairobi and chose to stay at the Interconti again. What a pleasant surprise to see that they keep their excellence (if not improved it!). The hotel is still abuzz with guests from everywhere, giving a pleasant cosmopolitan atmosphere. The staff is first class... friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable, professional! The rooms are spacious and nice, the beds very comfortable. The food at the different restaurants remains delicious! Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThecaAtlasville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear ThecaAtlasville,

It is great to note that you spent an enjoyable time at InterContinental Nairobi and that our facilities and team members’ service met your expectations!

We have conveyed your appreciation to our colleagues, in order to continuously strive for excellence.

We appreciate your thoughtful comments and look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a large and very busy hotel in a great location in the city centre. Staff are very professional and friendly, and the food is extremely good. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, internet is reliable. IHG club members are well recognised with free internet, one free drink, and a dedicated check-in area so it is worth signing up before you visit.

The decor is a little dated and the property as a whole is starting to look 'tired' - especially the guest rooms where minor issues like a leaking shower head (spraying water over the entire bathroom) can become an annoyance.

With the volume of guests this should be no surprise to the management - better day-to-day maintenance or refit is required for this hotel to live up to its full potential.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear voehn,

Your feedback is much appreciated. As an IHG Rewards Club member, we are grateful for your loyalty to IHG. We are delighted that you find our rooms comfortable and spacious and our internet reliable. Your comments on the room condition are noted and will assist us as we work on improving our accommodation facilities.

Once again thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The intercontinental is a good start for a trip Kenya. Not too far from the airport. It is a mix of Kenyan and European class. The employees are very friendly and the service is good. Our room was at sixth floor, so we had a kind of a view over the centre of Nairobi. During the transfer it seems that the driver drove through red traffic lights. Strange experience! Later we were told that all traffic lights stay as they are at 20.00 h. Never seen before.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Gea S,

We greatly appreciate your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews