We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to start or end your Kenyan safari.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent a few nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi hotel in Kenya while on a Friendly Planet tour of Kenya.The location is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and close to downtown. The security at the hotel is phenomenal,with armed guards at the gated entrances and an under-vehicle search of every vehicle before it is allowed entrance to the property. We also had our hand luggage searched and had to pass through a metal detector each time we entered the hotel. In all of our extensive world travel, we have never seen such elaborate security!
We were told it was unsafe to leave the hotel and although my husband and I did walk in the park across the street, we spent the rest of our short stay on the premises.

The hotel itself is quite large with all the amenities - pool, several restaurants, bar etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and had one window that opened and no balconies. My main criticism is that the hotel is quite dark and dated, although it was an acceptable trade-off for the feeling of security we had in a potentially unsafe city.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our tour, was delicious with huge variety and excellent quality. Loved it! We also ate dinner at the hotel and while the food was fairly tasty, we felt it was a little pricey.

The pool was unappealing and unattractive and few guests seemed to use it. The bar area adjacent to the pool was a nice outdoor oasis and a good place to have an evening cocktail.

A good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear laurWaterloo_Ontario,


Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.


I am glad that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.


I note with pleasure that the quality of food in the restaurants, service in the bar and attitude of our colleagues met your expectations. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.


Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent three nights here as part of Overseas Adventure Travel Kenyan/Tanzanian safari. Modern, excellent service, friendly personnel. Poolside dining area is first class. Pricing - I have no idea of rates since it was part of total package. Beware of local from room telephone calls - they get very expensive very quickly.

Room Tip: Back side overlooks parking roof.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Julian Y,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am delighted to note that your experience at Terrace Restaurant (restaurant by the pool) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a busy business hotel and a little worn down but the rooms we stayed in were very nice. Access to the club room meant that we had a quiet space in which to eat, snack and work throughout the day. There's also a nice outdoor patio/bar. It's in the heart of Nairobi and easy to get around from here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear anuka9,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service to our guests and your comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to note that you had the opportunity to access our Club Lounge, which made your stay memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel do not deserve to be part of Intercontinental chain, could be a holliday inn if refurbished but it is high street robbery to call it intercontinental!
Located in the city center very noisy, all the rooms are old furnished with the same tv that on my first stay in 91. Italian restaurant is an insult to Italian cuisine, breakfast is bad, as well as the service.
I will never going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our valued guests and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure guest satisfaction and memorable experiences to all our guests.

Once again, we are thankful for taking time to share your comments with us.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 3 star average hotel and I'm feeling generous tonight. Everyone was nice and courteous enough, but everything was just SO outdated and faded. Breakfast was really not special at all and I was just totally underwhelmed. It's just fine for one night, just don't expect anything special at all. I couldn't feel more neutral.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africantraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear africantraveler1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note your positive comments about the courtesy of our colleagues.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to enhance guest satisfaction and ensure memorable experiences to all our guests.

I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of breakfast in order to serve a variety of cuisines and boost guest satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two business trips so far this year, and I'm very satisfied with the standard, service level and mostly with the friendly and professional approach by the staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillemor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Lillemor B

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After arriving at 9pm after a long day flying and being a Platinum member for 9 years i was expecting a quick shower, some food and then sleep. Not here! 40 min wait to get a room, dinner offered and then removed, £20 per day internet charge (seriously it is 2013), some staff excellent though some incompetent and depending who you talk to you get a different answer to your questions.

This hotel has the business market because of the name but for a leisure traveller it would be madness to stay here with all the other options now available in Nairobi.

I complained to the GM (Karl) who I have to say was very impressive and understood my complaints but he has a difficult job if he wants the leisure market. I recommend he goes to Art Caffe and steals their staff and moves on some of the ones he has who maybe think they don't need to treat people in shorts the way they do people in a suit.

These days hotels should be funky, up to date technology, smart and vibrant. This one is stuffy and old fashioned where a guy shining shoes would not look out of place.

The hotel is clean, comfortable etc just incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: Look at the new hotels and apartments for better value.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakealito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Cakealito,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced from our staff. We are confident the hotel will continue working with their staff to improve the level of service offered for our guests.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 167 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $143 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing