We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Ullswater
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms were fantastic, and everything about the service is good. My only difficulty with this hotel is value for money. There are better places to stay in Kenya, it seems that the hotel tries to live up to a reputation it slightly fails to achieve.
Secure and nicely located within the city the pool and facilities are of a good standard but not brilliant. Like many other reviews a little updating is required in a few areas. The restaurants serve a good standard of food but nothing to exquisite, again value for money is questionable.
But comfortable rooms and a huge bed was welcoming, a good view of Nairobi is a nice touch if your room is at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loggy_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Loggy_Shopper,

Thank you for sharing this candid feedback with us. We are indeed humbled that you have spared time to share such honest feedback with the hotel.

We acknowledge that certain areas of the hotel are in need of refurbishment and that food quality could be improved on.

The hotel has undertaken soft lite refurbishment in certain parts of the hotel and are also focusing on food quality and variety.

It is our hope in your next visit you will notice the difference given the efforts we have taken base on guest feedback.

Once again, I appreciate your kind feedback.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    360
    187
    65
    37
See reviews for
104
129
62
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
373 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In all fairness we only stayed one night on our way into the interior for safari, however after reading the many reviews I can say that for the most part they are accurate. The staff is well trained, kind, attentive and there for anything you need.

The rooms are equally clean and fresh however in dire need of an update, but then given this part of the world it's pretty good. We slept well and felt safe, and thats the bottom line these days feeling safe.

However that's as far as it goes, the food is a completely different story. I have traveled and still do to many countries and can appreciate that it is not our country and that the host country has it;s own food choices. Having said that the food in the Terrace is poor and lacking in taste. It adjoins the "fine dining" of the hotel which is India, "nach" again this part of the world and it is reflective of the food offering and I am not a India 'curry" fan. And should not be when eating in an international hotel. Had we stayed there another night we would have gone out for food.

In past reviews the manager always answers with "thank you" and we will take it under advisement, I just hope that they do redo this property as I am surely retuning within two years

At the end if the day its a safe bet for Nairobi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ghostrider5408,

Thank you for taking your valued time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. It was a pleasure to receive feedback from you about your most recent stay with us.

I note that our service delivery fell short of your expectation and we truly regret this. I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of food in order to serve a variety of cuisines, to enhance guest satisfaction.

Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated. We hope to meet and surpass your expectations during your future stay with us.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Intercon Hotel is a Hotel that is evolving with the country. My first stay here was in 2004. They Hotel has made vast improvements in things like flat screen TV's, new furniture and decor, the Club Intercontinental is very very nice, and the Internet is 200% better than my first experience. The one thing that has not changed is the kindness of the people who serve. George and Felix meet you at the door with a smile and if you are returning, your name and they even try hard to remember you. Siamanta Martha is ready to check you in with a smile and a preprepared accommodation. Samson is one of the many improvements. When I first stayed, he was the internationally known, bigger than life, head bellman. Now they have recognized his value and promoted him to head Concierge. He is always ahead of the game and ready to meet any need. The club on the sixth floor is well staffed. Lucy and the rest do an amazing job and the young cooks are always ready to supply and fulfill any of your custom request. Finally, the area that has improved the most is the wifi capability of the building. While there are still some needed up-grades, the service is much improved and getting better each day. The best up-grade is Kennedy. He is an enthusiastic assistant, knowledgeable of the system, and familiar with most operating systems. He helped my trip become superior and special rather than just great. It is nice to find an employee who is competent and smiles while he works. Thank you Kennedy.

Well, if you're looking for a US Family resort that is quiet and still and luxury at every turn,this is not your place. If you desire a business friendly, well appointed, competently staffed Hotel where customer service is king, then this is your place. Oh yea, don't forget to have a great massage by Jane down in the basement spa. She is great and truly African.

This is the place to stay for great customer service, good food, clean rooms, and relaxing style. It's in my book as the place to go when working in Africa.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club floor, it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear livinfast,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your ‘home away from home’. I am delighted to note that after many years, you find InterContinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice to cater for your accommodation needs.

I appreciate the time you took to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. Your comments and reviews do help with us in our quest to provide the best possible service experience our guests.

Your observation about our improved hotel facilities and staff service quality is very much treasured. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and make your every visit memorable.

On behalf of the management team, I have conveyed your compliments to Samson, Siamantha, Felix, George, Kennedy, Lucy and Jane, from both the Front Office and Health Club departments and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction and will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated and we hope to meet and surpass your expectations during your future stay.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Intercontinental Nairobi offers the best Lasagna and bar ( both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks) in my experience. The Indian Restaurant is also to die for, not forgetting the sumptuous breakfast table and lunch time buffets. I can recommend their food anytime. i have never spent a night so I am not able to comment about the rooms.

I can recommend it anytime as a wonderful place for your meetings, chill outs or just a sumptuous dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Hjkenya,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It was a pleasure receiving your compliments about our services. I have also noted that you had an opportunity to visit our restaurants and have had a memorable experience.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and satisfaction to our guests.

I look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with the other reviews which say that the hotel is a little dated, but it's certainly clean and secure with mostly good service and located close to the town centre and a short walk from the weekend craft market. Nairobi Hotels seem expensive by comparison with many places I've stayed, but you can save a bit of cash by opting for the a la carte breakfast. Unless you have a massive appetite, you'll never justify the cost of paying for breakfast up front. The in house Indian restaurant is excellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear John-frae-Banff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note that your experience at the Bhandini (Indian Restaurant) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I dont know if you can give an accurate review from a one night stay but nonetheless here it goes. Apart from th security guards, luggage scanners and , metal detectors this place is very inviting lol this is Africa. Seriously, I found it to be warm and pleasant. It's a little dated and you can tell but the rooms were pretty clean, bed was soft, and the staff was very very nice and helpful. They will try to get every last dollar from you but if you understand that your in Africa and everything is negotiable you will be just okay. Ordered room service and the club sandwich was decent and very edible. I did not have time to check out the restaurant but I did grab a very nice cappuccino and a Kenyan Croissant ( kenyans make their croissants to be moist instead of crunchy, I actually think it's very tasty and really enjoyed it but if your used to crispy flaky croissants you may be disappointed, I certainly wasn't. Would I return here? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgirma1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear dgirma1980,

We are very grateful for your kind remarks and that you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Nairobi. It has always been our goal to provide only the best quality services and facilities to our guests and it is gratifying to learn that our efforts are appreciated.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here before going on Safari. Central Location which was convenient, but somewhat noisy. They did have a wonderful outdoor patio/bar area with a projection screen. Room was neat and clean and good sized. Overall a decent place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience at the Makuti Bar which is the outdoor bar was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing