We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good base in Nairobi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good base in Nairobi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with the other reviews which say that the hotel is a little dated, but it's certainly clean and secure with mostly good service and located close to the town centre and a short walk from the weekend craft market. Nairobi Hotels seem expensive by comparison with many places I've stayed, but you can save a bit of cash by opting for the a la carte breakfast. Unless you have a massive appetite, you'll never justify the cost of paying for breakfast up front. The in house Indian restaurant is excellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear John-frae-Banff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note that your experience at the Bhandini (Indian Restaurant) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    383
    200
    66
    39
See reviews for
111
140
66
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I dont know if you can give an accurate review from a one night stay but nonetheless here it goes. Apart from th security guards, luggage scanners and , metal detectors this place is very inviting lol this is Africa. Seriously, I found it to be warm and pleasant. It's a little dated and you can tell but the rooms were pretty clean, bed was soft, and the staff was very very nice and helpful. They will try to get every last dollar from you but if you understand that your in Africa and everything is negotiable you will be just okay. Ordered room service and the club sandwich was decent and very edible. I did not have time to check out the restaurant but I did grab a very nice cappuccino and a Kenyan Croissant ( kenyans make their croissants to be moist instead of crunchy, I actually think it's very tasty and really enjoyed it but if your used to crispy flaky croissants you may be disappointed, I certainly wasn't. Would I return here? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgirma1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear dgirma1980,

We are very grateful for your kind remarks and that you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Nairobi. It has always been our goal to provide only the best quality services and facilities to our guests and it is gratifying to learn that our efforts are appreciated.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here before going on Safari. Central Location which was convenient, but somewhat noisy. They did have a wonderful outdoor patio/bar area with a projection screen. Room was neat and clean and good sized. Overall a decent place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience at the Makuti Bar which is the outdoor bar was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was here for 4days conference and enjoyed every single day and wish to go back for sure.The staff is great,lovly and hardworking.The rooms were quite luxurious with tasteful decor.The food was great and the hotel was quite stunning.The gym and spar are also excellent and on the highest level.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KdKokoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear KdKokoyo,

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently offer superb service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

It will be our pleasure to host you again during your future stays.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ended up here for a night after our airline unilaterally cancelled our tickets. Hotel was nice enough, quite comfortable with good facilities. Although we didn't pay for the accommodation, I think I would have been a little disappointed with what we got if we were paying - whilst a good size, the room was a little dated. The bathroom had a shub (I always hate them), and the shower head needed replacement. The pool area is nice, and the Makuti Bar outside is a great place for late afternoon/early evening drinks. Staff were very good and friendly in general, so compliments there. Overall, a very nice hotel, but gets three stars based on perceived value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Wandering_Saffa,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. We are pleased to note that our hotel facilities made your stay comfortable, coupled with friendliness of our colleagues. I am glad you had the opportunity to visit the Makuti bar and that you enjoyed your time there.

I hope InterContinental Nairobi will still be your preferred choice of lodging for your future travel needs in Kenya.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I Stayed at the Intercon, for a business trip; and my stay (although rather short) was just superb. From the guard, to the porter,to the receptionist,to the Night Manager and Day manager who actually gives you a call, to check if you are comfortable in your room and if they can assist you with anything. Just loved how proffessional and friendly the staff were. The rooms were comfy, bathrooms just as you would expect in any worldclass hotel. I give you guys 6stars, Thankyou! I shall definately be staying with Intercon for all my business trips to Nairobi. :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharifaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear SharifaA,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I am excited and encouraged to hear how pleased you were during your stay. The staff are also glad to hear that the service delivered was up to standard and it met you’re every expectation.

Being in the hospitality industry our fulfillment comes from knowing that we have satisfied our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Intercontinental Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kijabe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Intercontinental several times in the past four months. We have also advised family and friends to stay here.

We feel it is the best hotel in Nairobi due to the consistent friendliness of the staff.

The facilities, location, pool, and particularly the food are all very good to excellent. There are some rooms in the hotel that are not as modern as others; because we are in the Ambassador's program we are upgraded to a better room. No hotel is perfect, including this one...but the professional staff consistently helps our family have the best stay possible. We appreciate this and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ambassador's Club membership helps you get upgraded to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Dan C,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing