We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Standard but Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here before going on Safari. Central Location which was convenient, but somewhat noisy. They did have a wonderful outdoor patio/bar area with a projection screen. Room was neat and clean and good sized. Overall a decent place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Adam P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience at the Makuti Bar which is the outdoor bar was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was here for 4days conference and enjoyed every single day and wish to go back for sure.The staff is great,lovly and hardworking.The rooms were quite luxurious with tasteful decor.The food was great and the hotel was quite stunning.The gym and spar are also excellent and on the highest level.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KdKokoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear KdKokoyo,

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently offer superb service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

It will be our pleasure to host you again during your future stays.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ended up here for a night after our airline unilaterally cancelled our tickets. Hotel was nice enough, quite comfortable with good facilities. Although we didn't pay for the accommodation, I think I would have been a little disappointed with what we got if we were paying - whilst a good size, the room was a little dated. The bathroom had a shub (I always hate them), and the shower head needed replacement. The pool area is nice, and the Makuti Bar outside is a great place for late afternoon/early evening drinks. Staff were very good and friendly in general, so compliments there. Overall, a very nice hotel, but gets three stars based on perceived value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Wandering_Saffa,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. We are pleased to note that our hotel facilities made your stay comfortable, coupled with friendliness of our colleagues. I am glad you had the opportunity to visit the Makuti bar and that you enjoyed your time there.

I hope InterContinental Nairobi will still be your preferred choice of lodging for your future travel needs in Kenya.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I Stayed at the Intercon, for a business trip; and my stay (although rather short) was just superb. From the guard, to the porter,to the receptionist,to the Night Manager and Day manager who actually gives you a call, to check if you are comfortable in your room and if they can assist you with anything. Just loved how proffessional and friendly the staff were. The rooms were comfy, bathrooms just as you would expect in any worldclass hotel. I give you guys 6stars, Thankyou! I shall definately be staying with Intercon for all my business trips to Nairobi. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharifaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear SharifaA,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I am excited and encouraged to hear how pleased you were during your stay. The staff are also glad to hear that the service delivered was up to standard and it met you’re every expectation.

Being in the hospitality industry our fulfillment comes from knowing that we have satisfied our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Intercontinental Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Intercontinental several times in the past four months. We have also advised family and friends to stay here.

We feel it is the best hotel in Nairobi due to the consistent friendliness of the staff.

The facilities, location, pool, and particularly the food are all very good to excellent. There are some rooms in the hotel that are not as modern as others; because we are in the Ambassador's program we are upgraded to a better room. No hotel is perfect, including this one...but the professional staff consistently helps our family have the best stay possible. We appreciate this and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ambassador's Club membership helps you get upgraded to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Dan C,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were only there for about 8 hours so I can't speak to everything. I think it was once probably a pretty elegant place but it's a bit run-down now. Service is not the best - we arrived late at night after many hours traveling, had been promised a triple room but found only 2 beds and 2 towels. After 2 requests and about 45 minutes we finally got a rollaway bed added (the other 2 beds would have been too small to share even if we wanted to). We never got a 3rd towel but fortunately the one used at night got dry enough for morning use. We didn't experience a lot of noise or bedbugs or anything really awful. Breakfast was VERY good. Oh yes - upon arrival our van of about 5 people had to be inspected by armed guards and all our luggage x-rayed in order to check in (apparently standard for Nairobi?). No idea of price since we were on a tour and all was included. I have suggested to the tour company that they might want to choose a different hotel in future.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear NotTooFussySC,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your home away from home. We appreciate the time you took to give us your comments regarding our service.

We apologize for the shortcomings experienced during your recent stay. We have shared your comments with respective Heads of Departments to address your concerns to ensure comfort and satisfaction of our guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind Regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Should have known better than to stay here after the additional charges (tax, $30 extra person charge etc) drove the price of the room up from the quoted $180 to close to $300! And while we wouldn't mind paying $300/night for a good hotel this hotel's dated, cramped rooms leave plenty to be desired. We were told that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room but if what we stayed in was a deluxe room then I dread to think of what a standard room looks like! The only deluxe thing about the room was the beds... the carpet was old and looked dirty, the decor of the room and the TV (not a flat screen) were dated. The room was really cramped and the bathroom was tiny. Not the standard I expected from an Intercontinental Hotel having stayed at others around the world - don't be fooled by it's name, it's not a typical Intercontinental Hotel. Overall we spent over $400 (including internet and breakfast which were not included in the extortionate price of the room) for just one night in what was barely a three star (if not two star) quality room. I felt like we had been ripped-off and will not return to this hotel again. My advice to those considering staying here would be: don't. It's literally not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chileshe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Chileshe R,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I apologize for the inconveniences experienced on your recent stay. I am dismayed by the unfortunate incidences you experienced regarding billing and the condition of the room allocated to you.

Your review helps us to identify the areas we fell short of your expectation and we take every measure to correct each area.

Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to serve you again and regain your trust.

Kind Regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,302 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $148 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing