We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for conferences, service & rooms very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for conferences, service & rooms very average”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This is an example of a mediocre hotel still living off its former glory. As one of the first international chains in Nairobi, it has the advantage of everybody knowing where it is. It also has a very professionally run conference centre. Aside from that, rooms are drab and old. Housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired and you will be charged through the nose for any extras like Internet. Service is incredibly slow, especially at the bell desk who took 45 minutes to locate a parcel. All in all it is much more of a 3 star experience at 4 or 5 star prices.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kannice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kannice,

Thank you for your recent visit with us and your comment and feedback on our location, facilities and service. We have gone through each line of your feedback and we will follow up to ensure service improvement according to the comments made.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to achieve the highest level of service excellence.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Nairobi.

Warm regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    401
    207
    71
    41
See reviews for
113
146
68
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just checked in this afternoon. We moved from the Serena because it was not quite up to our standards, although quite good. We were greeted by a distracted clerk at the priority desk. After coming back in the late afternoon because our rooms weren't ready, we proceeded to have an argument with a different clerk because our booking apparently showed breakfast but no internet. When I showed her that the rate the hotel was offering online was the same and included both internet and breakfast she didn't care and told us we had to talk to our travel agent to fix this.

Got to the rooms finally and it is a sty. Hasn't been renovated in forever, stained carpets, no slippers, no phone on desk, barely any light. After staying at Intercons around the world this is very, very disappointing. Will be seeking an upgrade through our agent because this is 100% unacceptable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ed S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on InterContinental Nairobi.

We are disappointed that your stay was not as perfect as it should have been and we would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken on board and actions put in place.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in InterContinental Nairobi in the near future and to restore your confidence with us.

Warmest Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is pretty old but well maintained.It is at a stones throw from KICC and the commercial business district.Breakfast is pretty average with limited options for Vegetarians.It has an Indian restaurant,Coffee shop,An Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aman-Tekriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Aman-Tekriwal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We rely on you to know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope that we'll have many more chances to be of service to you.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I take the pleasure of passing great gratitude to the cordial reception and hospitality received at the Hotel InterContinental Nairobi. For the 2weeks I was there, i admit that the services were great, more so acknowledging the team at the ClubLodge, namely: Gladness, Ednah, Kemimah, Lucy and Hellen, that was superb and noteworthy service.

Keep up the great work and will most certainly be back!

Best,

Muhia

Room Tip: Relax and have a chat with a business partners, colleagues or a client at the ClubLodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Apple T,

It is great to see that you spent an enjoyable time at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service exceeded your high expectations.

Of course your observations about our Club Lounge staff especially Gladness, Edna, Jemimah, Lucy and Hellen have been conveyed to them and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction and will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

We look forward to your next visit which we hope to be in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is great so long as you are in the refurbished section - the rest of it is 2-3 star at best. Breakfast and other food is good, rooms are well sized and comfortable. Wifi should be free throughout.

Room Tip: Ensure its a refurbished/deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbird1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear speedbird1984,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our Deluxe Rooms.

Your comments about Wifi are appreciated and we are in the process of working out the modalities.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Warm regards.

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A great place to stay in downtown Nairobi for business travellers. Good choice of restaurants, swift room service, comfortable guest room and excellent concierge services - I asked for directions to a pharmacy and was personally escorted there :-) On the not so good side the conference room is like a cavern with no natural light and limited facilities for plugging in laptops. During my 6 night stay the internet connection was pretty bad for the first 4 days; although they acknowldeged there was a problem it took far to long to fix. Similarly with the television, missing channels and 3 days to fix. The pool is overlooked by two restaurants which I found odd, although entertainment for the diners I suppose. I managed to find fitness centre which offers massage and hairdresser where you can get a manicure but never managed to locate the spa (unless that was it!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Anne F
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to know your wonderful comment about our excellent Concierge services.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our internet service, TV and Conference room. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your need. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as corroboration to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms are so old, the beddings, furniture, and even the blinds are so outdated. The most shocking experience was the bathroom quite ancient, not clean and the towels are yellow stained.
On the contrary, the breakfast was lovely with quite a wide selection. Intercon, please renovate your rooms!

Room Tip: It is difficult to find the entrance to the hotel, it you park your car at the Hotel Parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Kairetu,

Thank you for sharing with us about your experience.

I am glad to let you know that we have already renovated half of the hotel - The Deluxe wing.
We are in the process of working out the modalities for the renovation of the remaining rooms.

I hope you will have the opportunity to try out our Deluxe rooms on your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#23 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing