We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing really changed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Premium Club Room Offer
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nothing really changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

As per my last review of this hotel being mediocre, nothing really changed in the 6 months that passed since my last visit.

I will give kudos to the front desk attendant, who told me about a $25 food voucher I can get for free - got it and used it - nice touch. At the same time, another attendant has double billed me, which I noticed only when I was about to put my pin code in to authorize the Visa transaction - seriously?

The selection of food items for breakfast is rather poor, even for Africa.

Next time I'll try the Serena, as I had an absolutely excellent lunch there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear DrSavant,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the double billing on your Visa Card.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the $25 Food and Beverage voucher we are offering our Priority Club Members. I hope you also took advantage and signed up for the 1000 bonus Priority Club points per night promotion which ends 3rd September 2012.

We have noted your comment on the breakfast selection and will work to improve it.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    353
    186
    63
    37
See reviews for
103
127
60
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed over in this hotel as I missed my onward connection. This hotel is located very close to the Parliament house and in the heart of the Central Business District. The rooms appeared to be a bit cramped up, but ok for a night stay. The hotel serves buffet breakfast and dinner.

The hotel also has an Indian restaurant on the ground floor which serves fairly decent Indian food.

The property overall is clean and in a safe area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombaybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Bombaybrat,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay, and for taking the time to write your review which we appreciate.

We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and look forward to see you again soon at our fine Hotel.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Was overall an average experience, average room, lobby, average food, average service levels. We were actually given wrong information at the front desk. Were told our tariff included breakfast and dinner. At the Restaurant they encouraged us to order more at dinner time, as it included everything, and then got us a bill!
Nothing special, overall average, works well as a stopover place before you go to the to Wildlife Parks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev_Shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Rajeev_Shroff,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the wrong information about your tariff.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel is definitely showing its age but it convenient to the city center and the airport. The staff was extremely accommodating when we asked for a room change.

The restaurants have a lot of variety and the bar/lounge had a great local band on the weekend evenings.

It was a great place to regroup after a long safari in the bush.

Room Tip: Stay above the 2nd floor on in a room with an odd number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaceyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear JaceyRight,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Intercontinental Nairobi. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post this encouraging review. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great Safari.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our staff, the variety of restaurants and the great local band.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Intercontinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our visit to kenya to enjoy wildlife and safari. the hotel is ideally located near the Parliament bldg. in the heart of the Nairobi City. Rooms were excellent, very clean and superb service. Hotel restaurants had wide variety of food. Indian restaurant Bandini is a good choice. Restaurant next to Bandini had theme buffet each day and it was too good. Hotel staff is very friendly. The souvenier shop in the ground floor has good collection and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Sunil K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi. We appreciate that you chose our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is an excellent way to start or end a stay in Kenya. Excellent service, food, amenities, everything you want. his stay was after a sixteen day safari, so it was particulary appreciated.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear ForrestWalker,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay , and thank you for taking the time to write your review which we appreciate ,

We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent service, food and amenities. We look forward to see you again soon at our fine Hotel.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel one night at the beginning of our safari and the experience was great. I had preconceptions about it but the hotel is at European standards.
Slightly older but very very clean.
I have noticed that the a few airlines had their crews staying here so good sign.

One of the restaurants we went downstairs to eat at was already closed by the time we arrived and it still allowed us in and had great service and not bored staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Ana005

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Intercontinental Nairobi. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing