We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WAKE UP WITH PELICAN SQUAWKS AND CROAKS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WAKE UP WITH PELICAN SQUAWKS AND CROAKS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Previously I stayed in Tribe and never thought of Intercontinental even though I get free upgrades. Tribe was fully booked so it was my second choice.
I was pleasantly surprised, it is centrally located, easy for travel to city business meetings, very friendly staff eager to help even to replace busted zipper in a jiffy with a smile and excellent concierge service.

Hotel has an excellent business center, it was a great help in printing extra color copies. These days I carry a single transcript & USB.

Its restaurants have excellent food choice & clean atmosphere and there is a help at hand for local food.

In the morning, I woke up with a Pelican squawks and croaks; I still miss Pelican morning squawks.

Room Tip: Book with business club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMZaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_10, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear reviewer, we are very happy to hear about your recent experience in our hotel, especially about our services. Believe it or not, we received other comments about "nature" around us... We are regularly a small oasis for some imposant birds on the trees around and what a special wake up call! Hope to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    398
    206
    71
    41
See reviews for
113
146
68
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed there for 1 night only - very friendly people everywhere. Booked a airport pick-up which was perfect, was escorted upstairs to the lounge for check-in and offered complimentary late check-out.
Room was slightly dated with a distinc 80's feeling to it. TV was also old and not very good quality. Internet service was acceptable. Bed and bathroom however were in pristine condition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_10, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience. We are happy to hear about your positive service experience. Our Standard Rooms will undergo a major refurbishment very soon as most of our Superior Roomtypes already did. Karibu, hope to welcome you again soon in one of our DeLuxe rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed there last week for some days. The room was quite nice and an upgraded one (as an Interconti Ambassador it also should be).
Unfortunatly the hotel has some missing things which you would expect for such a hotel:
- very bad wireless internet connection (for which the hotel would like to have money also)
- old TV in the room
- packed gym

During the stay we tried the italien restaurant in the hotel. I was not a good experience. My main rule for testing an italien restaurant for the first time is to order pasta with tomato sauce or with bolognese sauce. Those are very easy to make and if the cook is not able to do that he is also not able to do something more sophisticated stuff. The pasta I got was overcooked and the sauce had no taste. So if you would like to have italien food in Nairobi go somewhere else (e.g. "Mediterraneo" at the Junction Mall)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyChorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Hotel has excellent security, a must in Nairobi. The Chief Concierge, Samson Wahore, is said to be the best in the world, and I believe it. We were pleased with all of the hotel staff. They were so very friendly and efficient. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are slightly dated, but that is to be expected in Nairobi. We dined in the hotel for several meals and were very pleased with them all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieqz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with an organized tour and really enjoy my stay there.
My room was spacious, very clean, comfortable king size bed, good quality linen, bathrobe, iron, couch and complimentary coffee/tea maker. Breakfast buffet was excellent with variety of freshly squeezed fruit juices, smoothies, hot buffet, great cereal, nuts and dried fruit selection, pastries, etc.
Nice swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, casino, Italian restaurant and a great Indian restaurant and bar.
Staff is very attentive, helpful and friendly.
Very positive experience and I will certainly recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Rooms are large and clean with good amenities. Some minor maitenance issues but they were addressed quickly. Good location near government offices and markets and shopping. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelectiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great location...just 3-4 blocks to the markets!!!! clean and friendly hotel...Food was terrific!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#27 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#22 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Property: InterContinental Nairobi
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing